A Little Surprise

September 7, 2008 at 11:20 am (Baby Stuff) (, , )

Whenever Chris is at work, calling him is one of the first things I do when I wake up.  It’s so comforting to hear his voice, even if sometimes he is just too busy to chat for long.  Today, that wasn’t an issue.

Today, he asked me if I had a preference for our baby’s gender.  Now, ever since we found out about the baby, we’ve referred to it as “he” — it just felt natural.  I can say, though, that I honestly do not have a preference as to whether I’m carrying a boy or a girl; I just want a healthy baby.  I can think of pros and cons to each.  I just want a healthy baby with all the fingers and toes attached.  And then Chris said, “I think I kind of would prefer a girl.”

This kind of blew my mind, then it made me get all teary-eyed at the thought of my big, 6’2″ husband with his broad shoulders and shaved head carrying a little baby girl — and being absolutely wrapped around her little finger.  I thought of a little girl’s room with a big canopy bed (my grandpa bought myself & my sister canopy beds when we were younger, and I thought they were the most amazing things ever !), all decorated with Disney princesses.  Then I thought about a teenage daughter and how horrible I was to MY mom, how she used to curse me with “I HOPE YOU HAVE A DAUGHTER JUST LIKE YOU!”

So then, I started to daydream about having a little boy 😉

3 Comments

  1. Cristin said,

    Awww.. so sweet. I have one of each. My daughter is the baby and she MUCH prefers Daddy to me… it’s kind of cool the bond they have…
    I know you’ll be thrilled, boy or girl..

    Thanks for stopping by my blog..

  2. Follow-up to: A Little Surprise « It Was a Very Good Year… said,

    […] father, flashback, memories, pregnancy) While replying to Cristin’s comment to my post A Little Surprise, I realized that I have a whole lot more to say about why that particular statement from my husband […]

  3. Follow-up to: A Little Surprise said,

    […] replying to Cristin’s comment to my post A Little Surprise, I realized that I have a whole lot more to say about why that particular statement from my husband […]

Leave a Reply

