Every Other Week

September 10, 2008 at 12:04 am (Baby Stuff, Daily Life) (, , , , , , , )

My husband, Chris, works an interesting schedule.  7 days in a row at work, followed by 7 days in a row at home, so it’s actually quite wonderful, but the adjustments I have to make to my “routine” when he’s home always make me kinda grin.  This is the first occasion I’ve had all day to sit at my computer and just take time for myself to blog & browse & whatnot (I think I need to work on that!).

When he’s home, he always has his computer sound going, the TV on, and usually a fan blowing as well — so it’s loud, and I have to repeat myself when I talk, because I refuse to yell and compete with everything else.  When I’m alone, it’s just MP3s or the TV, and of course I don’t have to talk to anyone but the dogs (until February…)

When he’s home, he keeps the blinds shut most of the time, since his computer monitor is situated right at the middle of our huge window and so the blinds have to be shut all the way to keep the sun from shining in his eyes.  When I’m alone, the blinds are always open to let in the light (we lived in a basement apartment for the past three years and most of that time we were awake all night while sleeping all day, so now sunshine is a VERY WELCOME guest in my home) and since I run two computer monitors, when it’s shining in my eyes, I can just move my browser window to the far screen and not be facing the window anymore.

When he’s home, I’m not so lonely.  There’s someone to talk to, and snuggle on the couch with, and someone to eat lunch with.  I wake up and he’s there to hug me good morning.  When the baby kicks I can just tell him, and he’ll reach over to rest a hand on my belly in the hopes that he’ll feel something (he can’t, not yet).  When I’m alone, I’m … alone.  I can talk to the dogs, whose lives consist of sleeping, eating treats, going outside, and kisses.  I make lunch for myself, and it’s just not as fun.  I wake up and get puppy kisses on my ankles, if they feel like moving, but there’s no one to hug me.  When the baby kicks, only I know; I can call him to tell him, but it lacks the same immediacy.

So you know, all things considered, it’s better to have him home.

We signed up for a gym membership yesterday, and tomorrow afternoon we go in for our “fitness evaluation”.  Fortunately for me, the trainer I’ll be meeting with once every three months (included in our membership fees, no way I’m paying for a personal trainer right now!) is a retired nurse that only works with women and specializes in pre-/post-natal exercise, so I’m in good hands.  And, one of the gyms in town that our membership gives us access to has a pool; the other is women-only and has a full yoga/pilates studio with classes.  I’m kind of excited and kind of scared (story of my pregnancy!) about it all; I mean, this is a first for me, and I’ll be going with him so we’ll be able to encourage each other — and he’ll get all fit and sexy and I’ll want to jump his bones all the time, which I am looking forward to.  But I’m going to have to WORK OUT, while being pregnant.  Still, I think that once the baby is home, after a month or two it might be nice to leave Chris here babysitting and just go do a yoga class to settle my mind, taking a little time to myself.

Anyone else tried this gym thing?  How’d it work out for you?

2 Comments

  1. Paula said,

    My husband is the same about having everything on. Esp the fan!! It drives me nuts – I hate all the noise. He used to like to have the fan on while we slept and I had to put the kaibosh on that ASAP. We got a gym membership too BK (before kids), and not to discourage you, but we never used it! That’s us, though.

    BTW, thanks for your comment. About GS – I KNOW!!! That’s part of what I think I like about him – he made this comment one day about being tied up….. Mmm, just had to sit and ponder that visual for awhile…

  2. Damselfly said,

    That’s great there’s someone who specializes in pre- and post-natal fitness to help you out! I’ve never been to a gym, but I like the idea of going to a class to get my butt going. I used to be good about exercising every day or almost every day until my boy came along.

Leave a Reply

