It Was a Very Good Week…

September 27, 2008 at 7:57 am (Baby Stuff, Daily Life, food) (, , , , , , , , )

Everything this week has left me in a state of fuzzy joy.

We are having a daughter. Her picture is taped to my computer monitor; she is perfect, and her little nose is just waiting to be smooched. At the ultrasound, our technician was laughing about how much our girl was moving — we saw her little fists and toes wiggling. The next day, our midwife listened to our daughter’s heartbeat; it was a bit fast, but explained by the sound of it: thumpthumpthumpthump WHOOOOOSH thumpthumpthumpthump! Again, our baby girl was active, her arms and legs sweeping around. I couldn’t stop laughing delightedly at the sound of her. Seeing Chris grinning, uncontrolled, while watching or hearing our baby just pulled at my heartstrings.

So, too, did this afternoon. We were sitting on the floor in the “nursery” (which is at the moment really more like a storage room) as he flipped through the instruction manual for our new stroller, with our new carseat set in the corner behind him. Something about seeing my husband preparing for the baby, watching him concentrate so intently on putting this together so it would be perfect and safe for her, just made me melt. I dunno. It’s seeing him preparing for the job of “daddy”, I think.

Speaking of, when I woke up this morning to Chris sitting on the edge of the bed and the dogs bouncing around the side, the first thing I thought was I can’t believe I found someone to share my genes with. I mean, that’s pretty intimate. That’s a pretty big leap in life.

In less emotional but still awesome things that made my week so far so great, we renewed our World of Warcraft accounts. I got a library card, and we went to the farmer’s market where I picked up some phenomenal “first of the season” Macintosh apples, and some gorgeous, tasty local honey. I have a serious love of honey. And I cooked dinner every night — there is something really wonderful about sharing a home-made meal, with fresh local ingredients, with someone you love. Even if I did forget to make cornbread >:[

I apologize to those of you whose blogs I usually follow & comment on more closely; we’ve been so busy this week that finding a solid hour to sit, read, digest, and respond has been difficult. Next week!

2 Comments

  1. Cristin said,

    I got me some of those Macintosh apples too! I have a serious craving for apple pie… I’m going to have to satisfy it today. I love honey too… I put it on everything… my fave is honey on grapefruit… oh, now I’ve got another craving…. no, I’m not pregnant!!!

  2. fyreflixie said,

    Honey on grapefruit? Dear God… you may just have invented the perfect snack. I need to go buy some grapefruit, PRONTO.

Leave a Reply

