Love

October 6, 2008 at 7:39 am (Baby Stuff) (, , )

There is something so magical about knowing that right now, there is no better place for my baby than where she is.  I am everything she needs.  Food, shelter, love — it’s all right here.

My mom told me a long time ago: “You will never know how much I love you until you have a daughter of your own.”  This came to mind for me as I sat looking at wall colour samples online for the nursery for some reason.  All the sudden I found myself stunned at the entire circle of life, that my mom’s first baby girl is going to have her first baby girl.  I can’t even wrap my mind around how awesome everything about that is.

Sometimes though, I feel insecure; I was feeling hideous about myself the other day.  My navel piercing left a dark little scar above my (rapidly stretching) belly button, and I somehow ended up with two very itchy bug bits right next to it, so every time I look in the mirror I’m miserable with how unattractive my favourite part of my new body is.

I mentioned this to Chris last night, trying not to sound too pathetic as I did so.  He frowned, pulled me close, and pushed up the front of my shirt before kissing my belly and saying:

“Both of my girls are gorgeous.”

1 Comment

  1. SuZ said,

    Ahhhh, sooo sweet.

Leave a Reply

