Be the Change

October 10, 2008 at 11:38 am (Baby Stuff, Daily Life) (, , )

We were driving home from Starbucks last night, having just picked up two of their seasonal pumpkin spice lattes since I’ve been hearing for years about how good they are.  We sat there in comfortable silence, my small and his medium coffee having run us $9.40, and I thought about a headline I’d seen while browsing a Canadian news site: “Food Bank donations way down“.

“When Maia’s a bit older, I’m going to start doing volunteer work and bringing her along,” I said.

Maybe it’s my expanded awareness of the world and what I want it to be for my daughter.  But I feel like I need to do more with my life than just exist, and more for my ‘reality’ than just vote.  I want to be a better person, and I want to live in a better world.  It’s so easy to sit here and feel like there’s nothing I can do & no difference I can make, but that’s probably not actually true.

So, who better to bring along on the journey than the person inspiring me to make it? 🙂

Leave a Reply

