How Mama Spoils herself, part 4

October 14, 2008 at 7:52 pm (food) ()

Made this for dinner — risotto with brocolli, mushrooms, and red onions. Since I wasn’t sure how the roasted red peppers would taste mixed in, I topped it with a mess of them instead. Chris fondly referred to the blob of red peppers as “a crab” (and they were SUPER tasty). I’m not big on creamy risottos that flow all over the plate on their own, hence this one having enough cheese (parmesan & asiago mix) to let it keep a shape. Chris insisted that he wanted ROASTED POTATOES with the risotto, so, I did those too. I don’t think two starches belong on the same plate, but he figures that since they’re both things he likes, he might as well eat them together, I guess :]

And this was gooooood. I so love risotto. It’s total comfort food.

3 Comments

  1. Gala said,

    So, as I sit down with my morning lukewarm coffee and peanut butter on toast I see this! Talk about REALLY not liking my breakfast! This looks wonderful–I can’t believe you and Chris aren’t 300 lbs. each with all the great food you make. Seems like every great cook loves to make risotto. When I watch Iron Chef there seems to always be a risotto!

  2. Damselfly said,

    I would totally eat both risotto and roasted potatoes. Especially if you cooked them. I guess I am a carb girl.

  3. fyreflixie said,

    @Gala – I promised Katie to try my best to make her a seafood risotto when you two come up in February to meet Maia, so, if I’m awake enough to do it — you’re on! And it’ll even be drizzled with the truffle oil you’re going to buy me for Christmas, like I said šŸ˜‰

    @Damselfly: I admit, I ate most of the potatoes on my plate as well as all the risotto, then I snacked on the potatoes all night. They’re such a great little finger food!

Leave a Reply

