So, I Hear I’m Pregnant

November 6, 2008 at 2:35 pm (Baby Stuff) (, , , )

With all the professor & election fuss, Maia’s been in the background of my blogging for the past week. She’s still in the foreground of my mind, of course, and this is highlighted by the fact that her movements are getting really strong.

On Tuesday morning I had a personal trainer session — Georgina was thrilled with the size of my bump and gave me a low-impact, highly flexible plan to follow for the rest of the pregnancy. I probably won’t meet with her again until after the baby’s born, and who knows how long it’ll take for me to 1) actually be capable of leaving her and 2) want to work out. The gym does have a daycare but seriously? Not when I can leave her with daddy.

I’m starting to notice a bit of a routine to her activity now. She is always awake when I go to bed, and again when I wake up. I’m sleeping through the night just fine these days, so I don’t know what she’s doing in the middle of the night, but it never fails that when I open my eyes every morning she greets me with a kick. And those kicks are getting strong. There are times when my belly visibly jumps with her movements, and it’s no longer difficult for Chris to tell when she’s moving. We were snuggling in bed this morning and I rolled over to press my front against him — Maia moved — and he immediately said “Oh, and good morning little girl.”

Today, we’re heading out to pick up some paint chips to work more on the colour scheme. Toys R Us has this nursery set I’ve sort of fallen in love with called Sugar Plum (seriously, look at the light plate!) and since it plays well into those colours I’d mentioned wanting to use earlier, I’m using it as inspiration. Chris seems pretty happy with it too.

I also hope to stop by a maternity clothes shop or something… my need for a pair of pants I can wear without keeping the fly unzipped is growing desperate.

5 Comments

  1. Ms. Core said,

    Wow! I cant believe you are still wearing your pre-pregnancy pants..unbuttoned or otherwise. I think I had to move on from mine after 17 weeks. Also, just a suggestion. When I started looking for maternity clothes i thought the over the belly pants looked and felt ridiculous so I bought the low ones that go below the belly and are very wide. Well, now that my belly is ginormous I understand the over-the belly pants, you don’t want anything down there if just mildly constricting. I am currently wearing a pair of over the belly maternity leggings and loving them (even though I look Ridiculous!).

    And love the Sugarplum..it’s girly but modern, I think picking a piece for inspiration is the best idea to start…otherwise it’s totally overwhleming. Have fun at the store!!

  2. Ms. Core said,

    Sorry meant to add:

    I think that that theme will be easy to find other coordinating too….butterflies are such a sweet idea for a girl’s room.

    Some examples:

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=sr_gallery_14&listing_id=16457160

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=13615168 (the pink elephant from this artist is oh so cute too)

    I know style is a VERY personal thing tho, just a head’s up. Makes me kinda sad our nursery is done.

  3. Tatiana said,

    Hmmm, that is good to know about the over-the-belly thing… I have a few pairs of those that a friend sent me, but they’re WAY too big for me to wear right now.

  4. Tatiana said,

    Also… I LOVE Etsy, omg. If I had a job, I would spend most of my money there. That pink elephant is just to die for!

  5. Michelle said,

    I’m so excited for you! Sounds like everything is going well. Ditto to Ms. Core on the pants. Though, the over the belly ones were not comfortable at all until I got much bigger. That being said, the wider the waistband, the better.

Leave a Reply

