Hell on High Heels

November 10, 2008 at 7:55 am (Daily Life) (, , , )

Saturday afternoon, we met up with Chris’ brother and father for lunch.  I was tired of wearing the one pair of pants I have that fit and can be worn out of the house, so dug this long charcoal skirt out of the closet.  My normal sneakers won’t work with this kinda get-up, which meant finding some decent black shoes.  Now, I am not one of those women who is a shoe freak; in fact, I have three pairs of flip flops (no thanks, it’s winter), three pairs of strappy sandals (ditto), three pairs of boots, two pairs of sneakers and one pair of black “dress” shoes.  Let’s note that counted among those are snow boots, my high school gym sneakers, and those “dress” shoes have also been hanging around since high school.  Oh, and none of them have ever been polished.

I decided against the “dress” shoes, since they’re disturbingly ugly and clunky.  I should probably actually toss them in my Goodwill bag.  This left two pairs of boots — one knee-high, one mid-calf, both with heels.  I’m not even sure I could zip the knee-highs now, so calf boots it was, complete with their three inch heels (I’m guessing here).

Chris was skeptical of this (and rightly so).  I told him, “This is probably one of the last days before it’ll snow, it’s not slippery outside, and I don’t really have anything else to wear — so, yes, I am wearing these.”

Before lunch, we dropped by a local printing & framing place that’s running a clearance on their inventory, and picked up a few pictures for around the house including some super-cute ones for the nursery.  This involved a lot of walking around the warehouse, and when I noticed a plush chair by the checkout, I flopped
into it.  This was probably the most comfortable chair ever, if only because I then realized that walking around with my feet pointed, heels elevated, toes squished together into something pointy enough that I could actually see it beyond my belly was really a horrible idea.

Anyhow, once we get into the car, my calves start to ache.   Now, I take all the advice of all these pregnancy books as suggestions, not a word of law, and I do remember reading that heels are a horrible idea (unless they’re kitten heels!) for us pregnant women.  Then I realized… I get charlie horse cramps in my left calf very often, and the worst thing you can try to do to relieve those is to point the foot in question.

Great.  (Sure enough, a massive charlie horse woke me up in the middle of the night.)

By the time we get to the restaurant there’s been a light rainfall.  Oh, and the parking lot is sloped up to the front door.  So now I’m holding onto Chris’ arm for dear life, praying with every step that I’ll keep my balance on this slick slope.  I did, fortunately, just as I did on the way back down to the parking lot, whereupon I settled onto our heated car seats and took off those boots.  It felt good to wiggle my toes.

Those boots are so far back in my closet now that I just may never find them again.

I need to buy new shoes.

3 Comments

  1. Michelle said,

    I hope you got a foot and calf massage!
    If you get the chance, soak your feet (and calves) in warm water with Epsom salts. Epsom salts were my friend when I was pg and had to stand all the time.

  2. Cara said,

    I did the same thing when I was 7 or 8 months pregnant. I hadn’t worn anything more than an inch or so in months and I had a breakfast meeting to go to so I thought I would dress up a bit. Terrible idea. I didn’t even walk very far and I was miserable. I kept my swollen feet out of heels the rest of my pregnancy. Truth be told, I’m not sure I’ve put a pair on since she was born either…

  3. Ms. Myg said,

    oh god I haven’t been able to even fit in any of my heels for so long. I bought one pair of slip-on black Merrells – which I had to buy in a whole size up and my feet aren’t even swollen. Just somehow bigger. They wouldn’t be my absolute favorites as far as fashion goes, but they are really really comfy, I don’t have to bend over to get them on and at the moment the only pair of shoes that I can wear. We had snow in October (unheard of here) and I was screwed, so I’m thinking I’m going to have to find a pair of boots I can get into!

    As my grandma would say, “Go on – treat yourself!”

Leave a Reply

