Week 27

November 15, 2008 at 8:03 am (Baby Stuff) (, )

Something is different today.

I think it’s different in a good way!

Last night when I headed to bed, I just could not get comfortable… I tossed, I turned, I elbowed Chris, then I kneed him. I got out of bed, got back in, took the blankets off, and put them back on. One of my pillows, the one I usually squish along my belly & thighs, has mysteriously disappeared and this is just annoying the shit out of me.

Eventually I fell asleep, then slept through the night.

Until 7:15am (hey, that’s about 1.5-2 hours early for me!), when I woke up with a pain in my upper left chest. And the drops of rain falling on our window AC unit, which sounds sort of like a droplet of water from a leaky faucet amplified. And the baby dancing. I rolled onto my left side and the pain stopped, but the constant droplets of water made me have to pee, go figure. I guess I just wasn’t meant to sleep any more tonight, and really, 7 hours of sleep ain’t bad. It’s sure more than I expect to get come February!

My pee stuuuuuuunk. Like, hardcore stinky, and it wasn’t even because I ate asparagus. Then I felt a funny twinge in my lower abdomen and all I could think was oh my gosh, third trimester, and what does a Braxton-Hicks contraction feel like? I’m pretty sure that wasn’t one, because I’m pretty sure that when it happens I’ll be more like SWEET BABY JEBUS THIS IS A PRACTICE CONTRACTION BUT I’M CALLING MY MOMMY ANYWAY.

But, I do feel different today. I feel huge and round and wonderful. After stink-pee, I stood in front of my bedroom mirror and just looked at my belly, rubbing it. Maia had, of course, gone back to sleep after her gymnastics helped to wake me up, but I don’t mind. I don’t even mind if I spend the rest of my pregnancy kneeing my husband in the back while trying to get comfortable.

It’s 3 months until Maia’s projected arrival. We’re getting closer to baby time.

2 Comments

  1. Ms. Core said,

    Congrats on the 3rd trimester. It doesn’t seem all that bad yet…its just becoming a little daunting, the reality of having a baby.

  2. Ms. Myg said,

    oh my god – I had a ton of contractions Friday and landed in the hospital! They don’t hurt at first. It’s just your belly getting tighter and then releasing. It scared the crap out of me. Luckily, thank god, no preterm labor. But, yeah, funny you posted about this like the SAME DAY!

Leave a Reply

