Crackin’ the Whip

November 26, 2008 at 1:01 am (Daily Life) ()

Everyone has been saying that I should get my husband, Chris, to help me out more around the house.  Even Chris himself has said I should be more assertive.  So, around 8pm, I walked over to him and said, “There are two things that should be done right now: the laundry needs to be folded, and the dogs need to go out.  Which one are you going to do?”

He looked at me like I literally was a different person than I had been before saying that…. then he took the dogs out while I folded the laundry.

I think I approached that the right way 🙂  Go figure, I took it from parenting advice: don’t ask an open-ended question, ask one that’s easy to answer.  “What do you want for a snack?” is going to be more painful than “Would you like an apple or an orange for a snack?”

Small victories…

4 Comments

  1. Gala said,

    Great way to handle it! Now…watch Chris use the same angle on you!

  2. Cara said,

    Genius! I’m using that one on my husband from now on!

  3. HumpsNBump said,

    Now that’s the key. Practising parenting tips on the Husband. I definitely need to try that.

  4. Tatiana said,

    You know what parenting book I wanna read? “Mama Rock’s Rules” – http://www.amazon.com/Mama-Rocks-Rules-Houseful-Successful/dp/0061536121 – every review I’ve read of it says it’s just a great, easy read and full of all the common sense things that you know but can be hard to remember when confronted with the stressful realities of parenting. It’s on my library list :]

Leave a Reply

