Week… 29? 30?

December 2, 2008 at 7:27 am (Baby Stuff) (, , , )

Midwife would say I just hit 29.  WTE newsletter says I just hit 30. Hospital girl would put me at 29 and 5 days.  Point being, BABY IS GETTING CLOSER and I am starting to get a little freaked out about it all.

Those quiet moments where Chris and I snuggle on the couch and just watch Lost are coming to a close.  I’m going to have to worry about what our girl is exposed to on television, and probably watch way, way more Disney Princess movies than I’ve wanted to since I was 5.

Making the spontaneous decision to head out to Tim Horton’s and grab a hot chocolate at 9pm is going to become way more involved than grabbing our coats and heading out.  For that matter, it’s only going to get MORE involved as she grows up.

Will I still be able to leave the food and water dishes for the chihuahuas on the floor?  How many times a day will Maia knock them over? How many times will I catch her eating dog food?

The mornings when Chris is home, and he sneaks into the bedroom with the dogs to wake me up… are ending.  I may already be awake and taking care of the baby.  Maybe he’ll sneak in with the baby.

No longer can we just go grocery shopping — we have to swing down the ‘baby aisle’ and check out any sales going on.  There are bags of Pampers sitting in the baby’s closet that are for around 6 months old, but we bought them because they were on super sale.  On the bright side, I’ll get to look at cooking in a different way, and I’ll have a (hopefully) eager little helper in the kitchen with me, which means I get to buy all sorts of kid-friendly kitchen products for her to use.  I can teach her how to cook for herself.  I will also have to try out some disgusting things she’ll “make” like …. ketchup on pb&j sandwiches.  Maybe daddy should take care of all that.

How much time will I have to sit here and blog?  When will life start to settle down after she gets here?  Never?  If I think about her this much already, how all-consuming must it be actually to have a child walking around this world?

I feel ashamed when I say that these things kind of scare me with how foreign they are.  But I know, deep down, that it’s good I’m thinking about all of this.  I feel unprepared, but I can accept that there’s no way actually to be prepared for what’s coming.  The transition we’re making as a couple is overwhelming, but people have been doing it for millions of years; it’s the most natural process in the world.  Life isn’t perfect and it never will be, but fortunately it’ll take my daughter years until she becomes jaded enough to realize this, and I am greatly looking forward to re-learning everything I thought I already knew, through her eyes.

6 Comments

  1. Gala said,

    Spontanaity will go out the door for sure. It tood me at least 45 minutes to go get gas for the lawnmower, when packing three kids into the minivan was involved, and the gas station was just around the corner. But, if you get to stay home or work around Chris’ schedule, at least you won’t have those crazy get-everyone-out-of-the-house-NOW momments.

    You will still find time to snuggle, but after awhile, you will notice that it feels like something is “missing” when Maia isn’t snuggled between the two of you.

    The baby gate will become your best friend when Maia starts to crawl–so leave the dog food on the floor! (A few kibble never killed anyone anyway!)

    You will love those ketchup and peanut butter sandwiches–and I am sure you will praise the amazing play-doh airplanes she will make for you.

  2. Maria said,

    It all just happens when you’re not looking. If you THINK about it, it’s terrifying. It’s even terrifying once you’re in the new routine if you stop and think how much life has changed. But in the moment? You’re just rolling and changing a little every day. It’s actually a pretty organic and non-scary process. And you’ll be totally distracted by loving that little girl, way too distracted to stop and mourn the changes in your life.

    29/30 weeks! Congrats, you’re almost there.

    Sleep, sleep, sleep. Sleep even when you’re not tired. Sleeeeeep. 😉

  3. existere said,

    I can see why this would be scary. But I think it’s probably a good scary! You are doing this amazing thing, as is Maia. You guys will be a fabulous family – you already are – and I can’t wait to see pictures of her.

  4. Ms. Core said,

    I know that the baby’s arrival is a very drastic life change but since they will basically be like a big larvae at first (eating, sleeping and not much else) I was hoping that the rest of the major life changes will happen naturally.

    But honestly who am I kidding, I have no idea what in the world life will be like on the other side. It’s definitely a big unknown and I think that is what scares us the most. Trying not to think about it too much as well.

  5. J.C said,

    It always is the unknown that’s scary.
    I can attest to the fact that you’ll quickly forget how life used to be before Maia arrived, you’ll definitely feel like something is missing if you haven’t seen her/touched her/heard her for a few hours (I felt weird after a family lunch when I’d barely got to hold her to two hours!). They make this slot for themselves in your life and you won’t be able to imagine not having her there. It’s pretty wonderful 🙂
    Give yourself a few weeks before starting to get into any kind of ‘normal’ routine again. I tried after about two weeks but really wasn’t ready until Lauren was about a month old – I still found time to blog though! lol
    You’re going to be a wonderful mommy 🙂 I can tell.

  6. Cristin said,

    Dottie is always eating the dog food… but we get the good, all natural kind so tha’t ok right? Lots of protein….

    You won’t mind that your life is completely turned upside down… you won’t mind one bit. You won’t remember your life before Maia… and you’ll find time to blog about all the cool stuff she’s doing..

Leave a Reply

