Decorating the Nursery

December 3, 2008 at 7:57 am (Baby Stuff) (, , )

The responses to yesterday’s post are the reason why I decided to try and be a part of this mommy blogging community. You are all amazing and I love every word of advice and reassurance that you give. Thank you for taking the time to come here and comment :]

We’ve finally hung the border in the nursery, so I can share pictures now! The scariest part of the whole ordeal was before we even started; we had to research how best to hang border, and then when I asked Chris to mark some measurements on the wall so we could assure things would apply evenly, he said, “Why? It’ll work itself out.” I gave him THE STARE and he changed his mind right quick. Even with that, the border is 1/2 inch higher on one side than the other, but, only a neurotic woman (me) would have noticed that…

nursery1

Chris putting the first strokes of paint on the wall — I totally LOVE this purple colour.

nursery_email

End of painting. Since we were putting a border up, we didn’t bother with making the two paint colours meet evenly.

nursery7-email

With the border up, here’s a shot from the window of the room. We intentionally painted the entire wall opposite the window in the lighter pink colour, to reflect more light in the room (also, we were cheap and didn’t buy enough border to go around the whole room).

nursery8-email

From the front of the room, a shot towards the window. The entire wall with the window is painted in the darker lavender colour, to make the room look bigger when you walk in (also, see above addendum).

nursery2-email

A close-up of the border. Awwwhhh! I am totally in love with the purple gingham and if I could have found a crib set in that pattern, I’d totally have put it on my wishlist.

Next step: assembling the crib and dresser, as well as matting and hanging the prints we brought. I think I’m going to end up pasting the prints onto card stock and then hanging them via ribbons. Hand-made, cheap, and probably SUPER CUTE because I can hand-pick the ribbons.

2 Comments

  1. Ms. Core said,

    Yeah purple!! My second favorite color after green. (it was actually my favorite color as a little girl). It’s coming along, I bet you feel better already, And the border is super cute and girly, the teal butterflies incorporated are a nice touch. She will be very happy there. Can’t wait to see the next set of pictures.

  2. Gala said,

    Wow…Chris painting…so cute…getting all ready for his little girl…:)

    Glad things are coming along.

Leave a Reply

