What He Said

December 10, 2008 at 7:58 am (Baby Stuff) (, , , , )

Sure, we’re at the low point for our generation, but I don’t regret our baby.

I don’t regret our baby. I’ve been replaying those words in my head all day, getting teary-eyed.  The downturn in the economy has finally had an actual, concrete financial impact on our household and I’m having a hard time remaining calm about it.  Chris still has his job, which is a positive thing that I am grateful for, just so no one thinks that’s the issue that’s arisen.

Chris rubs my belly and talks to Maia every day; sometimes when he gets home from work he’ll give her a kiss before he kisses me, and it just melts my heart.  I want to feel more positive.  I still smile everytime she moves; I walk into her room to soothe my nerves, look down into her crib and imagine how small she’ll look lying there, and feel a certainty that now is the right time in our lives to be doing this.  I just feel like vomiting any time that I question whether now is the right time in the world for this life to come into it.

In two months, every cloudy day — literal and figurative — will hold sunshine for us.

4 Comments

  1. sunbonnetsue said,

    I hope things are okay. And you are right to never regret your baby, ever.

  2. Gala said,

    You should be proud of yourself for being worried about bringing a child into this world. It shows how much you really care about this new life, how it will impact your family, and the world. Your child WILL make the world a better place, simply by being in it. The lives of people in her life will take on so much more meaning because of her existence. That in turn will spread to other people she may never even meet, but who were affected by her shear being….and it goes on and on.

  3. Cara said,

    The truth is that there is never a perfect time. There is ALWAYS something going on somewhere, whether it is financial, climatological, racial tensions, government insanity, etc. Maia is almost here. She will be a wonderful addition to your family and the world. You just can’t worry too much about the stuff you can’t control.

  4. Ms. Core said,

    I am sorry to hear you have bad news. All I can say hopefully is that it will get better. There is no other time for your perfect baby Maia to enter the world and you will know that once you see her.

Leave a Reply

