I Kinda Like to Swear

December 12, 2008 at 7:57 am (Uncategorized)

I sprinkle my conversations with the word ‘fuck’ like Martha Stewart sprinkles her cupcakes with … sprinkles.  There are other, dirtier words that get used around here pretty often too.  It’s not uncommon for me to refer to my husband (laughingly) as a prick or an asshole, and we’ll just say that the c-word is not taboo around here either (although never directed at me!)

How long can we continue to swear like sailors once the baby is here?  I figure I should probably stop as soon as I’m done with the whole “giving birth” thing.  In fact, I should probably stop sooner than that, since it’s an unladylike habit anyhow.

But fuck me, it’s gonna be difficult…

3 Comments

  1. Gala said,

    Like mother, like daughter. I really wish I didn’t swear as much as I do, and I honestly can’t stand to hear my kids swearing. Actually, I just don’t like to hear anyone younger then me swearing load enough for me to hear…guess I consider it to be disrespectful. Katie always warns me—“Ear muffs mom!” before she swears!

  2. Cara said,

    My mom cursed like a sailor all while I was growing up (still does) and my sister and I both grew up to be quite conservative cursers. Rebelling, I guess. If the worst thing you do is curse, then I wouldn’t worry about it.

  3. Ruth said,

    I very much remember stubbing my toe and yelling FUCK when my eldest was about a year old. She spent the rest of the day saying ” fuck fuck fuck fuck” . I was not , at that time, pleased that she was an early talker. Now she is twenty one and still says ” fuck” a lot. So do I.
    There are some words we forbade them to use….. racial epithets and the like. They have been very good about not using them. Ever. Those words are bad words.
    We all say “fuck” a lot still though we all learned how to practice discretion ( translation: Not in front of the teacher, boss, or the grandparents, or your friends parents ).

Leave a Reply

