My Master Plan

January 2, 2009 at 9:30 pm (Daily Life) (, , , , )

I am hoping, before the baby gets here, to set up this blog on its own domain — then I’ll be able to set up photo albums and videos, along with having way more control over the layout and whatnot.  Buying the domain name is cheap, like $3 thru GoDaddy or whatnot, but webspace runs about $50 a year.  No big deal, as I have plans to make that money back, but a friend is offering me some of his webspace to get started with.  I don’t know if I want to take advantage of that, so I can start working with the design and whatnot and get used to handling all the background stuff that I want to work with, or if I just want to take the plunge and do it on my own, without having him to fall back on.  I’m feeling very entrepreneurial and daring lately, and have a few ideas twisting around in my noggin…

So, to anyone else that has set up their own domain — did you just jump into it head-first?  Did you learn HTML & other coding as you went along, or did you go into it with a newbie guide at your side?  Do you have a friend you call on for technical support, or do you do your best to figure things out first and then call on someone when it’s just too much to do alone?

Inquiring minds want to know!

1 Comment

  1. Erika said,

    I’ve gone both ways, paying for a site & not paying for a site. You can do just as much on a free domain as on paid domains. The only difference is you pay for the .com name. I self taught a few different types of coding to get myself going, there are a lot of resources on the web for it http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ & http://www.w3schools.com/ were the ones I used the most. I had no one to help me figure anything out so I just figured things out on my own. It was frustrating but in the end it made me understand the code better doing it on my own.

    I would recommend the free sites like geocities or even blogger.. I get a lot of private feedback from blogger & I run a business on geocities all for free.. If you ever need help with anything just let me know!

Leave a Reply

