26

January 5, 2009 at 3:40 pm (Baby Stuff)

Happy Birthday to me!

I’ve been happily cooking all day — a pot of turkey chili for dinner, with an angel food cake for dessert.  I’ve eaten more chili during this pregnancy than at any other point in my life and I LOVE it!  Plus, it’s guaranteed to make Maia kick.  If she comes out with a distaste for cumin, I’m going to be one sad mama.

The recipe for the cake is called Heavenly Angel Food Cake and it’s an apt name because this cake is more delicious than a kiss from an angel.  It is so easy that even I, who can fuck up 1-1-1 peanut butter cookies, can do it.  I made it last year, as well.  I mix whipped cream with strawberry yogurt for a yummy, light “frosting”.

Pictures forthcoming, but I don’t want to hack into the cake before Chris gets home… I know, I’m so nice!

9 Comments

  1. Dana said,

    Happy Birthday! And you are nice – if it were my birthday cake, I’d be digging in! Hope you have a great day…

  2. sunbonnetsue said,

    Happy Birthday, Tatiana! I hope you have a wonderful one ❤

  3. Erika said,

    34 weeks, wow you’re getting close, I’m excited for you! I was cooking up a storm from 33 weeks on. I loved it, I couldn’t cook enough food & chili was one of my favorites too! I must have froze at least 5 lasagnas.. Everyone thought my nesting would go away & I wouldn’t be cooking like that anymore but turns out I still am & I still love it. I was never able to make the angel food cake I planned on making maybe I will try this one.. Thanks for sharing it!

  4. J.C said,

    Happy Birthday!! Enjoy it 🙂

  5. Cara said,

    Happy Birthday!! I ate chili at least once a week while I was pregnant. I couldn’t get enough of it. Sadly, it caused horrible heartburn, but it was worth it.

  6. Ms. Core said,

    Happy Birthday!! Last one not being a mom….hard to believe that isn’t it?

  7. Damselfly said,

    Wow, happy birthday, you chili-eatin’ mama! Enjoy it!

  8. Helen L Kaiser said,

    Happy Birthday, again 🙂
    Tried calling you last night…heard you “lost” your answering machine. Umm..maybe it is in one of those boxes that have been sitting in the corner since you moved in there??? Don’t worry–I think I have a few of those myself..and we moved into the house 8 years ago.

  9. ck said,

    Just think…

    In a few weeks you’ll be able to pee in normal time increments again.

    Seriously, it’s awesome not to wake up every hour or so to pee. Waking up with the baby isn’t nearly as irritating as leaping out of bed with the sensation that you might not make it to the bathroom this time…

    Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

