Because My Apartment Is Amazing

January 7, 2009 at 12:29 am (Daily Life) (, , )

Went downstairs to toss a late load of laundry into the dryer and saw a notice posted in the laundry room — there are “door closure tests” tomorrow between 10am and 4pm, so people will need access to my apartment.  What the fuck is a door closure test?  Clearly my doors close, or else I’d have complained.  It’s nice that they’re concerned with my door, but they still don’t care about the things I’ve been complaining about since we moved in — like a shelf for our closet, or a towel bar for our washroom, or the loose/detached track on the medicine cabinet, or that spot in the floor where the Jenga-esque wood block lifts up sometimes when you walk across it, the non-functional clock on the oven, the cabinet doors that still stick…

… so now I’m really, really curious as to what on earth a “door closure test” is and why it needs to be done with less than 12 hours worth of notice (especially considering that, if I hadn’t decided to do a load of laundry at 10pm, I wouldn’t have known about it at all).  Thank goodness I straightened up around here a bit today, since they’re going to be knocking on my door at about the same time I’ll be crawling out of bed.

2 Comments

  1. modernprincess said,

    “door closure test” is probably the silliest thing I’ve heard of when it comes to home maintenance. I would guess it is for security purposes so they can say they check the “security of the apartments” (read: make sure doors shut properly and are therefore ‘secure’) so the insurance companies will stay off their back?

  2. Gala said,

    Agree that it is probably an insurance thing. Maybe the notice has been posted for awhile, and you just haven’t been in the laundryroom.

    Maybe you should just buy yourselves a towel rack, and if you really want to be a pain, forward the bill/receipt to management next time you pay the rent. How about glueing the kitchen tiles yourselves? I know you pay rent, etc. but some small things just aren’t worth argueing about. God knows now is not a good time for you to trip on the stupid tiles.

Leave a Reply

