Week 35 Thoughts

January 9, 2009 at 7:52 am (Baby Stuff) (, , , )

I feel bad saying it, but I’m kind of sick of being pregnant.  Like hasn’t it been long enough already?  I’m just uncomfortable most of the time these days.

My ankles are swollen up and chub chub… and not that I ever really wear socks, because I’m so fucking hot and sweaty all the time, but when I do, even Chris’ socks leave tight marks around my ankles that make them look like they were wearing socks two sizes too small.

I have to prep dinner in small steps — chop vegetables, sit down for a few minutes.  Chop meat, sit down for a few minutes.  Otherwise my back and feet start aching badly when I finally remember to sit down.  This isn’t so bad, if necessary I can stand and prepare an entire dinner, but since I know that taking breaks makes it easier on me, I plan the extra time into my prep work.

I’m extremely sensitive to sugar.  For months I’ve been mixing juice with club soda (thanks to those of you who recommended it!), but now after I have a glass of that my mouth feels like cotton candy and my body feels dry, so I have to fill up on water with lemon to make myself feel normal again.  I’m also thirsty all the time.  I wake up in the middle of the night to pee, then come out and drink another glass of water because my mouth, nose, and throat are like sandpaper — and that’s with a humidifier in our bedroom.

I’ve been getting stomach and abdomen aches for the past few nights.  I don’t think that they’re related to one another, but it’s annoying that each night I end up feeling like I’m either going to puke my guts out (when my stomach, which seems to be courting my ribs, hurts for no apparent reason) or implode (when my abdomen hurts — it gets really tight — not sure if this is BHC happening or gas or what).

Sleeping is a chore.  I sleep with merely a sliver of the cover across me to try and stay cool, then bunch the rest of “my” portion of the blankets behind my back.  It’s hard to get comfortable when my husband is in bed with me though — if he is, it’s more comfortable on the couch, because it’s supportive against my back and the cushion curves under my belly.  When he isn’t in bed (that is, after he leaves for work) I bundle all the blankets up and wrap myself around them like a body pillow, with all the spare pillows tucked behind my back.  This is a lot of work when I roll over…

… which is a rare thing anyhow, because of the pain in my left hip/thigh that isn’t getting any better.  Anytime I have to rotate/drag that leg, I experience a shooting pain.  Unfortunately, as you who have been pregnant know, when you need to move then you need to move and there’s no way you can tolerate remaining in the same position.

That said though, when I have to get out of bed in the middle of the night to go pee (every 2-3 hours), actually standing up is a heck of a lot harder than moving my legs over the edge of the bed.   I’m still having that pelvic ache whenever I move from a sitting to standing position, and I have to steady myself against the wall when I first stand — the ache in my pelvis paired with the burning in my hip is obnoxious.

Sitting on the toilet is one of the greatest feelings in the world.  Some women labour on the toilet and I just might be one of them.  Sometimes I just go sit on it for fun though (it was fun explaining that one to Chris)!

I know this is a post full of complaints, but I want to point out that they’re all physical.  Deep down I wonder if it’s ungrateful to type anything negative about the pregnancy experience but I know that it’s important to stay faithful to myself and record these things truthfully.  Mentally, emotionally, and spiritually I feel wonderful.  A little worn down, a little confused by all these discomforts, and a not quite feeling like pregnancy is so cute and easy anymore, but very happy and at peace.  Chris is all the sudden turning into a Superman Spouse that somehow anticipates everything I need before I even know need it.  I am ready to meet our baby girl, when she’s ready to make her appearance.

12 Comments

  1. Gala said,

    If I had a dollar for every woman I have known who has said “I’m tired of being pregnant!” I would have a tidy sum in the bank! You are in the final stretch now, so try to enjoy the extra care from Chris.
    Make sure you tell the midwife how thirsty you are–I am sure it is probably because you breath through your mouth, but still, let her know.

  2. Crazy Momma said,

    The end was always the worst for me. I LOVED being pregnant until the lat couple months where I was just SO uncomfortable!

    Keep drinking lots of water and keep yourself comfortable – this will be over before you know it!

  3. Maria said,

    The end is really the worst… Try to identify anything that still relaxes you or that you enjoy, and do those things as much as possible.

  4. Tatiana said,

    Mom! I am not a mouth-breather! Geeeeeez. Unless you mean at night, in which case, you are maybe right.

    I got a “pregnancy pilates” book from the library and while it’s been sitting unopened on my table for a few weeks now, I think I’m going to check it out today. I have both a pilates mat and an exercise ball here, so it’s probably well worth my while to browse the third trimester section and the stretches there.

  5. humpsNbump said,

    I can imagine how hard it must be during the last couple of weeks. Personally, I can’t seem to get any rest, and since I’m only 25 weeks, I know it this will probably be the BEST of it.

    Don’t feel bad about voicing your frustrations and irritation in your blog. That’s exactly what it’s there for. Remember that you’re in the final stretch. You’ll be able to finally meet your little one in 5 or so weeks!

    Hang in there…
    ~ humps

  6. Ms. Myg said,

    Hi TaT – sorry for not commenting but have been reading you! I have bad tendonitis in my wrists and have been trying to keep myself from typing, yadda yadda, anyway, I am SO with you on the “tired of being preg” thing. I feel guilty too esp. since I went through so much to get pregnant in the first place.

    I want to point out that tightening in your abdomen is contractions – most likely – so do mention it to your midwife and drink a lot of water. More than you realize. That’s the problem I’ve been having for the past 10 weeks so I feel like a pro now! At this point it’s typical to have a few here and there, but you need to watch out that they don’t become regular too soon.

    We’re almost there sweetie! We can do it!

    ❤ myg

  7. Ms. Core said,

    BHCs definitely can feel like gas pain…they often seem to get the gas out actually….hehehe

    This is definitely when I started getting antsy for it to be over…now I am starting to pull my hair out! But honestly, as long as I have gotten a few hours of decent sleep I am managing.
    If not, well I am a little bit of a monster (Ask the hubby). Sleep is so important, stay in bed as long as you can even if the sleep is not awesome and DON”T FEEL GUILTY.

    You can do it! You can do it!

    Hugs and warm thoughts from me.

  8. Dana said,

    The last month was torture for me. I just complained all of the time. And I am not a complainer by nature. It will be so worth it once you hold that little baby in your arms and you will forget how miserable you were those last 5 weeks. 🙂 And if you need a laugh, come over to my blog. Make sure you pee first though, you might wet your pants. (Ok, I am hyping it up – but it is pretty funny)

  9. Damselfly said,

    Oh, yeah, the end of pregnancy has its own special joys. You seem to be experiencing a lot of them. 🙂 Just think, in a few weeks, you’ll have an actual baby to show for all your trouble.

  10. Cara said,

    My last weeks I couldn’t wear anything but flip flops and was so miserable at night. I had the thirstiness, too. I kept a large bottle of water on my bedside table and I would finish it off almost every night. Just know that this too shall pass. Soon your sweet baby girl will be here and you truly will not think about that stuff anymore.

  11. The Other Dawn said,

    You’re SO SO close. SO close. I know it sounds trite and saccharine, but this will pass and you will hardly remember– at least not in the visceral way in which you are living it now.

    Pregnancy, especially the end, is physically and emotionally demanding. You are a ROCK STAR!

  12. ck said,

    One sentence into this post and I immediately remembered exactly how you feel.

    And while you’ll never forget this part of being pregnant – in theory – you’ll be surprised how quickly it will all fade when you consider #2. 🙂

Leave a Reply

