The Yellow Ribbon

January 10, 2009 at 7:44 am (Daily Life) (, , , )

A few weeks ago, my sister MSNed me at quarter after midnight asking about a kid’s story that we used to read.  After some Googling, we finally found it online: The Yellow Ribbon. It’s about a woman who wears a yellow ribbon around her neck that she never takes off, and for her entire life, her sweetheart asks her why she wears it.  She refuses to tell him, until she’s lying on her deathbed — and she finally says that he can take it off and see why she wears it.  THEN HER HEAD FALLS OFF.  Seriously?  That’s some creepy, fucked-up stuff for a kid’s story.  A lot of fairytales are like that, though.  When I was in high school, I had a French teacher who always wore high collars or scarves, so I never did see her neck… I used to imagine that her head would fall off if her scarves & collars didn’t protect it.  And I liked her, so I didn’t want that to happen!

Then my sister brought up a poem by James Whitcomb Riley that I used to read to her — “Little Orphant Annie“. I remember trying to read it in that dialect, and hollering the “EF YOU DON’T — WATCH — OUT!” lines.

Us laughing over these things and reminiscing made me think of Baby Two.  Chris and I have idly discussed the next one, mostly in the context of me saying “I do not want to be pregnant again within the next two years” and him saying “But maybe we just bunch them together and get it over with” which I feel is a sure-fire way to end up with like five kids in the next seven years and not the two or three over that time span I’d be happier with!

What are some stories that stand out from your childhood?  Did you have a favourite fairytale or poem?  Is there any particular book that your kids love to share with one another or their friends?

8 Comments

  1. Gala said,

    Sometimes I hate that fact the mommy in me keeps coming out in these postings, but it’s who I am–why fight it?
    I didn’t want four years between my first two kids. But, nature planned it that way. I ended up being very pleased by it, because you helped so much w/Katie–truelly mommies little helper. Therefore, I did plan the three years between her and Jared. So, as a mom I have no regrets about the age spread. But, how do you feel as the sibling? Do you wish there was less age difference between you and Katie or Jared? Do you think you would be “closer” if your ages were closer? I think your real “closeness” with both Katie and Jared will happen in years to come–when everyone is an adult, living life, etc.

  2. Tatiana said,

    I think that however close we are or aren’t as siblings is entirely my fault, and you know why. I love them both oodles, and I know they love me, so I know that in the future as they grow into adults and establish families and whatnot, we’ll be very close to one another. I just wish that I lived closer to you all.

    I don’t think there’s a problem with our age differences :] I mostly worry about my ability (or lack thereof) to handle a baby and a toddler, and the fact that at some point I really need to be able to take the time to establish myself as an adult with a job and start working on an education.

  3. Cara said,

    My husband is the same way. Pretty much since the doctor gave us the six-week go ahead (to resume marital relations), my husband has been saying he wants to get going on number two. I want to wait until they’ll be at least three years apart. Purely selfishly, I want to be done with potty training number one when I have number two.

    As for childhood fairy tales, my favorite one was the Little Monster series. My mom read them to us over and over. I think they’re still pretty popular and I will definitely read them to my daughter when she’s a little older. I remember the yellow ribbon one, that’s pretty sick, actually.

  4. Andrea said,

    oh my goodness, what a terrifying story for kids! one memory that really sticks with me is the movie “when a stranger calls”. i somehow saw that when I was very small and had nightmares for years afterwards.

    thanks for stopping by my blog!

  5. Dana said,

    I was a little (ok, a lot) creeped out by the story of the yellow ribbon. I don’t really recall any stories that I read as a child…

    As for the kid age difference, Hubby and I didn’t plan to have kids 4 years apart, either. But nature had the final say. He said he wants to try for #3 right away. We’ll see about that. Right now I am concerned about having a demanding preschooler and a baby but at least she is potty trained and can tell me when she wants something, so that eases my anxiety a little bit. 🙂

  6. Gala said,

    Yes, the education thing is a biggy. Do you have a few kids close together, and then go to school? Do you stop at Maia, go to school, and then resume making a larger family? That is a hard one. You could try taking one or two classes after Maia, and see if the part-time schooling would work for you. That way, you could be working on two things at once.:)
    Right now, just enjoy your life, as crazy as it is. Enjoy being able to stay at home w/Maia for as long as you can.

  7. Ms. Core said,

    I totally remember the story about the yellow ribbon and it scared the s*** out of me then. Still creeps me out a little now. How funny that so many of us read it.

  8. ck said,

    list of things to do today:

    1) buy The Yellow Ribbon

Leave a Reply

