Tongue-tied

January 14, 2009 at 7:59 am (Baby Stuff) (, )

I call her “the baby” all the time.

I feel funny when I call her by name.

It’s like I’ve known for so long that she’ll be Maia… that I already have an idea of who Maia is.  It feels awkward.  It kind of makes me understand why some parents might choose not to find out their baby’s gender.

Hell, speaking of that — I haven’t cut all the tags off her clothing yet.  Mostly because I’m worried what happens if “she” is a he, but somewhat because I still, despite moving into week 36, have difficulty accepting that WE ARE HAVING A BABY, and cutting the tags off all that clothing to toss it in the wash means I’m embracing that reality.  It’s crazy.  I’m so excited to have her here, yet I keep delaying taking the simple steps that I need to take to make the house ready for her arrival.

Now if only I knew whether this was my innate tendency towards procrastination or some sort of worry…

8 Comments

  1. Gala said,

    There’s nothing wrong with calling the baby “the baby”. You will continue doing it, even after she is born. Plus, what if she comes out, and all of a sudden you are like “she doesn’t look like a Maia at all!” 🙂
    As for the tags–cut a few off and wash the stuff, already.

  2. cristin said,

    Yeah, what Gala said… we still call Dottie ‘The baby” and she’s almost two!!

  3. Ms Core said,

    I am almost a week late and I am still in denial about having a baby…the whole process is totally surreal.

  4. Cara said,

    Actually, you might be doing yourself a favor in not cutting the tags off. We wound up with a ton of newborn clothes but not much for down the road. I still kick myself for not returning about half of what people bought for me and getting the next size or further up. Something to think about.

  5. humpsNbump said,

    26 weeks. Still in denial. I guess / hope that it will feel real when the baby is finally here. It’s hard when you’re just “imagining” what he/she will look like, smell like, sound like.

    But I agree with the other comments. Cut off a few tags and wash a few items. But, I don’t think that it hurts to hold onto the rest INCASE that you need to make some returns. 🙂

    ~ humps

  6. ck said,

    DON’T CUT THE TAGS!

    My doctor told me that given my size and the weight I’d gained that I’d birth a baby no larger that 6.5-7lbs. My daughter was 9lbs. So she was almost immediately in 3-6 month clothes. If you can, only wash a few sets of clothes. You’ll be doing so much laundry on a regular basis once Maia arrives that you can always throw in more outfits if you need them.

    Plus, some of the cutest, most expensive outfits are impossible to get on anyway. Rarely worth the effort. Just wait until you try to get a newborn’s arms into a heavy winter coat of some sort…

  7. Jinxy said,

    During my 35th week I must have made the comment “I’m not ready for the baby, I have too much laundry to do” at least 35 times to people. The following Saturday morning I woke up and my water had broke. Before I even called the doctor I threw a load of baby clothes in the washer. I was 36 weeks 1 day along and not prepared at all. Lily was born 2 days later (very long labor) and was too small for anything I had washed anyway.
    Lily is 22 days old now and I’m still not really ready for her, but we are all surviving and you will too.

  8. existere said,

    Oh, thank god you’re still pregnant. Last night I was like, ‘What is she? Like 37 weeks now?’ And I worried I missed your BabyBirthday, not that you’ll be blogging during labour or anything….

Leave a Reply

