36 Weeks 4 Days

January 22, 2009 at 7:19 am (Baby Stuff) (, , , , )

My midwife is coming over today for a home assessment, and bringing a homebirth kit along that will stay here… so I will take many pictures to post and share with you all!  I am supposed to try and avoid rearranging things too much, but I figure if I take pictures as I disassemble it, I can reassemble it well enough.  The house is presentable.  Our desks are disaster areas, but we’ve managed to keep the rest of the place in pretty good shape, so I’m not too worried about last-minute cleaning.  And honestly?  The woman’s gonna be, like, staring at my coochie, diving into it, and helping my baby arrive into this world, I don’t really need to try to impress her.  I just hope the dogs don’t pee on the carpet and make it smell.

A lady at Chris’ work was bemoaning the fact that she had so much baby stuff taking up room in her house, now that her youngest is 3 years old and has outgrown it all.  This “stuff” includes a little bouncer chair, a bathtub, a highchair, a swing, and a playpen.  And she gave it to us for free! Woooo!  I’m so happy!  The only ‘big’ things we are waiting on now are a bassinet, which my mom is getting, and a rocking chair or glider for me, which isn’t a need but would be really, really nice.  I’ve been keeping an eye on Craigslist for one but no luck so far.

I’m short of breath lately — forgot to write that in my last update.  The other day I had a pain in my sternum that went all the way through to my back and I had to breathe shallowly, but opening the window and walking around with my arms over my head helped that out after a few minutes.  I’m gassy, but that’s nothing new, that’s just the story of me being pregnant.  I don’t keep the window open ONLY because I’m overheated…

Also, I’m like super horny.  WTF?  I’m fucking 9 months pregnant, I waddle when I walk, my leg hurts when I move it sideways, my hands and ankles feel like sausages half the time, I haven’t shaved in months, my child likes to push her elbow out so far that I look like a spike of flesh is protruding from my side… and I want to have sex all the time?  Couldn’t this have happened earlier in my pregnancy?  The universe has a fucked up sense of humour.  I brought up sex to Chris the other day and he gave this nervous little chuckle like I really hope she’s not serious and changed the subject.  It’s okay, I would probably not be a very good partner, I’d lay there and be like “just fucking do it already and I swear to God if you make me go into labour THERE WILL BE HELL TO PAY”.  I can see how that’s not the most attractive attitude ever.

8 Comments

  1. Cara said,

    I have several girlfriends who said they were super horny during pregnancy. Not me. From about five months on, it was painful and all around unpleasant. Plus, my husband was weirded out by having sex with our baby RIGHT THERE. So no hanky panky in our house.

  2. Tatiana said,

    Yeah, I have been totally anti-sex for the entire pregnancy, up until this point. Chris says the same sort of thing about the baby 🙂

  3. Lesha said,

    I somehow randomly came upon your blog and wanted to say I think it’s awesome that you are having a home birth! I had considered a home birth for my first but ended up having to have a c-section. I’m still not ruling it out for my second (whenever that might be).

    Anyway, good luck to you! I’m sure it will all go well.

    Lesha

  4. Gala said,

    For crying out loud–throw Chris down and ride him like a racehorse! What’s wrong w/you young people?? When we asked the OB when we should stop having sex, he said “When the contractions are 5 minutes apart.” Enjoy now, because after, you will be too tired for about 2 years. 🙂

  5. Tatiana said,

    omg mommy

  6. Michelle at Scribbit said,

    Good luck–that last month is always that hardest part for me.

  7. Crazy Momma said,

    LMAO. You are too much! Horny? At 9 months? I remember sex that late in the pregnancy…not fun, not easy. Not worth it!

  8. HeatherErin said,

    I’m going to ignore the horny and move straight onto your sternum – I hate to say it, but keep the word “gallstones” to mind. Pregnancy is a pretty common time to get a flare up, so if it continues or if it’s worse after a fatty meal you’ll need to chat with your doctor.

    But if it is them, don’t worry too much – I was at a Christmas party mingling two days after I had mine out.

    Here’s to hoping it was just heartburn!

Leave a Reply

