I don’t call it “deprivation”, I call it “practicing”

January 27, 2009 at 7:26 am (Baby Stuff) (, , , )

Sleep is getting really, really sparse and uncomfortable these days (and afternoons, and nights, because anytime I can grab a nap I do).  But honestly, no matter which side I sleep on I end up with that hip aching and waking me up.  This shooting pain in my left hip is really obnoxious, and getting rid of it will be one of the best things about having my baby — well, at least I’m banking on it going away at that time!

Of course, I’m getting up to pee all the time.  This isn’t honestly too bad, except for the “getting up” part.  If I had a pee pan I could use in bed, I wouldn’t mind it.  Okay, well, in THEORY I wouldn’t mind it, but in PRACTICE I’m sure it’d be uncomfortably gross.

Speaking of uncomfortable, something that’s been on my mind about giving birth is wondering what I’ll wear.  I’m kind of leaning towards nothing, except I’m not sure how I feel about being totally ass naked in front of my mom & mother in law.  Clearly I won’t be wearing anything from the waist down, and I don’t really want to wear anything on my chest.  Part of this because I want immediate skin-to-skin contact with my girl.  I’ve even debated asking Chris not to wear a shirt when I’m in active labour so he can have skin-to-skin immediately too, but then I realized that taking a baby out of her warm swooshy uterine environment to put her on her daddy’s hairy chest is probably a really mean thing to do.  Another part of it is because whenever I’m sick with a bellyache or whatnot, being naked makes me feel better.  Another part is because I hate the thought of being sweaty with fabric sticking to my skin.  I don’t know.  I guess it’s one of those things that is impossible to plan for and we’ll just have to see what happens!

PS: 37 weeks, 2 days!

10 Comments

  1. EricaB/Crazy Momma said,

    How about a big button up shirt? Something that will cover you, if necessary, but you cal also open easily for contact with that little one….

    I was pretty much naked with my first. My brother and father saw my bush (they were not there for actual delivery but my entire family was in and out the whole time). SO NOT OKAY!

    Sleeping was very uncomfortable for me towards the end as well. I was SO big that I felt like I couldn’t breath half the time.

    Good luck to you! You are almost there!

  2. Maria said,

    Have things on hand so you don’t have to send people looking. Nursing bras, ratty robe, big tee shirt, warm socks. Your needs may change as you progress. You don’t need to be naked until near the end anyway. I am so excited for you!!!

  3. HeatherErin said,

    I wore a big pool coverup – sleeveless, super baggy, short so it could be hoiked outta the way for those fun moments. It went on easy and came off easy, wasn’t too hot either.

    Oh, and have some fluffy socks to hand. Because from what I gather, about 99% of women suddenly have a moment in labor when they go “SOCKS! I MUST HAVE SOCKS ON PAIN OF DEATH!”

    Go figure.

  4. Cara said,

    I wore a nursing sleep bra (very comfortable) and a loose front open shirt. It worked perfectly. OH and socks. 🙂

    Towards the end of my pregnancy, I used to joke that I couldn’t wait to have the baby so I could finally get some sleep because I was so uncomfortable.

  5. Ms. Core said,

    OK, so the cruel irony about not being pregnant anymore is that sleep is comfortable again but I am not getting ANY with my newborn around. I didn’t really believe how sleep deprived I would feel. Sleep towards the end of pregancy was WAY more satisfying than the 45min-2 hour max cat naps I get now. Not to scare you but ENJOY these last few weeks alone cuz these ones are exhausting in a completely different way.

  6. Gala said,

    What to wear is hard, if you are going to be in a pool of any sort. I think a sports bra type of thing would work well–the kind w/the hooks on the front, so that after the baby comes, you can unhook it and put Maia on your chest. If you won’t be getting all wet, then any loose gown type thing would work. You can just hike it up to lay the baby down. I also remember wanting socks, big time. And a heat lamp afterwards…I couldn’t get warm enough.

  7. Dana said,

    I can’t help you with the what to wear issue, but I am sympathize with the sleep issue. And Ms. Core is right – you think you are sleep deprived now, but wait. It’s totally different. But you are almost done with this part! Hang in there.

  8. Tatiana said,

    That all of you are suggesting socks make me laugh! I will make sure to have a clean, fluffy pair nearby. We also have a space heater (it’s in the nursery right now actually) so if I end up wanting that, all the better.

    “Deprivation” is kind of tongue-in-cheek — I get enough sleep, it’s just not very quality sleep. I fully anticipate that when Maia arrives, I will be daydreaming about the sleep I’m complaining about now!

  9. existere said,

    When we toured our maternity ward (though I know you’re doing it at home!) the midwife said that by and large, most women choose to be nakies during labour.

    I think you need to do what makes you feel good.

  10. Damselfly said,

    They say the impossible-to-sleep part of late pregnancy is training for the impossible-to-sleep period after the baby is born and up every two or three hours. It’s a nice theory, but I don’t believe it. The sleep deprivation after the baby is worse! I hope the pain in your hip goes away, though.

    I didn’t realize until recently how many women prefer being naked during labor! I had a dreaded hospital gown that revealed all when I’d flip onto all fours during a contraction (it was an impulse), and I didn’t care who saw what. I had bigger things to think about!

    I hope it all goes great for you!

Leave a Reply

