Munchkin Fresh Food Feeder

January 29, 2009 at 7:50 am (Baby Stuff) (, )

For Christmas, a mother we know gave us a Munchkin Fresh Food Feeder for a gift.  Today while doing some work in the nursery, I decided to open the packaging and play around with this.

Now, I have to say, I think this is an uber cute idea and I can’t wait to use it to help with teething pain as well as introduce Maia to some new foods when she’s ready for them.  I’m already daydreaming about bringing her to the farmer’s market with me and becoming a ‘regular’ there, sampling the fresh fruit and feeding her organic, locally grown produce.

But opening the thing for the first time… holy geez.  There are two little ‘arms’ that poke up through the lid, and when you squeeze them together, the lid can be pushed open.  Or, at least, that’s the idea.  The arms are triangular with the widest part where they meet the lid, so my fingers kept sliding off and I couldn’t get a good grip.  Neither could Chris.   I took a pair of needle-nose pliers to try and get a better grip, but all they did was score the plastic and still slide off.  Chris finally ended up taking the pliers and individually bending the arms back a bit, since it seems like the item was manufactured without the arms set properly to even be able to bend back far enough to fit through the lid.  (I’ll note that, from my quickie internet browsing and the link I posted above, it seems that they are now manufactured with a latch on the side, not arms at the top, which would make them infinitely easier to open).

So I can open it now, but I spent a few minutes swearing at it and wondering why on Earth a company would make such a stupid thing.  Of course, that sounds mean, but I’m still totally geeking out about getting to use it for the first time.

5 Comments

  1. EricaB/Crazy Momma said,

    I never used one of these. But I do think they are a great idea. Alas, no more for me…

    However, with my youngest I did make all his baby food. He ate EVERYTHING from PLAIN yogurt to lima beans to peas and sweet potatoes. I boiled everything, mashed it up and froze it in ice cube trays (which is about a portion size for a little munchkin). It was such an easy way to introduce anything and everything instead of depending on the canned stuff Gerber offers (and I knew he was getting GOOD food – I knew everything that went into it).

  2. Cara said,

    We had one of these. I also struggled to get it open. Unfortunately, Sophie hated it, so I never had to worry about fighting it open. I’ve known lots of babies that LOVED them, though. Hopefully, Maia will be one of them.

  3. Damselfly said,

    The way some baby things are made is really baffling. But the mesh feeders are great to use!

  4. Scary Mommy said,

    I am so with you!!! I thought that was genius at the store, but it’s a joke. And washing it? Impossible as everything gets totally stuck in the mesh. I trashed them before using the other 3 I bought!

  5. cristin said,

    I used these with Graham as a feeding therapy tool… they actually worked pretty good at getting him to taste thing without the worry of having to actually swallow anything…

Leave a Reply

