Fuck You Friday #3: A New Worry

January 30, 2009 at 4:32 am (Baby Stuff, Fuck You Friday) (, , )

Woke up in the 1am and 2am hours with a stabbing pain in the middle left side of my abdomen, situated in the back but it’s not back pain, it’s inner pain.  Woke up at 3:46am with the same pain and I’ve been awake ever since.  Very similar in feel to earlier in my pregnancy when I’d sleep on my back and crush a nerve.

The pain faded when I would stand and go pee (normal clear urine), but it’s the sort of ‘fade’ where I still can point to the exact spot that hurts and it’s really just an achiness now, nothing unbearable but I still don’t feel right.  After my third time waking up to this pain, I can’t go back to sleep because I’m so fucking worried about it now.

Lying on my left side (where the pain is) is more comfortable than lying on my right side.  Sitting up is comfortable if I’m supported with a pillow behind my back like usual.  I feel the pain the least when I’m standing and walking around, but regardless of my position there is a definite ache in that spot although I may just be hyper-aware of it right now since I’m on edge.  However, the really intense sharp pain has not happened in the time I’ve been awake, aware, and moving.  I’ve also felt Maia move a few times, which is good.  Still, I’m terrified that something is wrong and I’ll have to go to the hospital and pay a million dollars, get an x-ray, and end up walking out missing a kidney with a caesarean-born baby in my arms.

I just took 500mg acetominophen, and I’m going to give myself until 4:46am and then page my midwife if this continues and see what she thinks.  I woke Chris up and talked to him until he was coherent, then let him know everything I was feeling and made him touch the spot on my back (it feels better when he massages it — I am going to warm up a washcloth and use it as a psuedo heating pad to see if that helps) until he knew exactly where the pain was.  I have my medical papers from my midwife right on the living room table.  I’m writing this all here so there’s as precise a record as possible of how I feel and what’s going on.  Even in the 15 minutes I’ve taken to type, the acetominophen seems to have kicked in a bit and I definitely feel it less, so I’m going to try to rest on the couch (the dogs sure are happy to see me) and then give the midwife a call in the morning.  If I can sleep.  If I can’t, well… I don’t really want to think about what’ll happen then.

4 Comments

  1. existere said,

    Um, are you in LABOUR??

  2. EricaB/Crazy Momma said,

    There is a muscle in your abdomen called the quadratus lumborum. It is SO deep that it could be considered a back muscle but, alas, it is just your deepest abdomen muscle. It runs from your last rib to your hip bone. Now, of course, I am not sure that is what is causing you pain but it certainly wouldn’t surprise me.

    Anyway, here is a link to images of the QL: http://images.google.com/images?sourceid=navclient&rlz=1T4HPIC_enUS311US311&q=quadratus+lumborum&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=X&oi=image_result_group&resnum=4&ct=title And this is a link of stretches to help with lower back pain during pregnancy (the QL stretch is #1): http://goliath.ecnext.com/coms2/gi_0199-747382/Expecting-changes-ten-ways-to.html

    Good luck to you! I am thinking of you!

  3. Tatiana said,

    well, just an update — a bit of time on the computer and that acetominophen really helped me calm down and relax. I ended up sleeping on the couch for a few hours kind of on an angle, with a pillow wedged under my side and a pillow on top of the arm where my head rested. When Chris woke up at 7 and came to see how I felt, I no longer had any pain or achiness at all.. I just crawled into bed and crashed.

    Insofar as being in “labour”, it didn’t feel like the right area to be feeling pains and it was too consistent of an ache. I’d been having BHC during the evening that were very low and tight in my abdomen — this was high and sharp and didn’t change anything about my musculature. It didn’t come and go (although believe me, when I laid there in bed before I woke Chris up I was like OH MY GOD AM I IN LABOUR?!), it altered intensity based on position but never got back to as intense as it was those moments when I woke up, and I just didn’t *feel* like it was labour.

    One super cute thing is my little boy chihuahua, Joss, was ATTACHED to me during all this. When I came out of the bedroom, he started to whine and didn’t stop until I let him out of the kitchen where we keep them at night. He slept next to me, and when I moved into the bedroom, he came in with me. I told Chris to take Joss out, but then he made this magnificent leap UP ONTO THE BED (this is the dog that sometimes still whines and pretends he can’t jump onto the couch) and burrowed under the covers to lay against my feet quickly. He must have known I wasn’t feeling right 🙂

  4. existere said,

    Glad everything is okay. All day I’ve been imagining you pushing that baby out – and also damning you for not updating if you were doing so! Ha. I am a demanding audience.

Leave a Reply

