February Already?!

February 1, 2009 at 7:08 am (Baby Stuff, Daily Life) (, , )

Three times in the past week, while cooking, I have blown the power in our apartment.  This happens whenever I turn the stove on while a burner is also on.  You may recall that we’ve had problems with our stove in the past… sigh.  Our landlady keeps having to go and flip the breaker switch or whatever it is that you do when someone’s power isn’t working.  She’s (supposedly) getting someone to come and look at it “soon”, which I assume means Monday.

It’s February.  Seriously.  It’s pretty much game time for us.  We’ve got the house mostly ready, but mentally I’m feeling less prepared than ever.  As much as I keep thinking “please just come out already” there’s another part of me going “stay in there forever”.  BHC are coming more regularly, although I don’t mean “regularly” as in consistently — just that I can count on at least two per day. Monday afternoon is when my “stretch and sweep”, aka membrane sweep, is scheduled.  Chris actually arranged to get off work early that day so that I don’t have to wake up at 4am and drive him into work, then through the stupid one-way streets of the city where my midwife is located, only to end up parking seven blocks away because that’s the only parking spot available (the joy of their office being right next to the hospital).  He is going to drop me off in front of the office then go buy coffee and hot chocolate… haha… I figure I will need the hot chocolate to soothe my nerves after having someone’s fingers poke around my cervix!

This is the last week he’s scheduled to work.  The week I’m due, since we can’t guarantee that the baby will be on time but his job needs to know as best as possible when he’ll be unavailable and they can schedule a stand-in, he’s got scheduled vacation… then if she’s REALLY late, he’s regularly off the following week, but hopefully by then he’ll be claiming paternity leave.

Every woman who sees my belly tells me I’m huge and I’ll have her early.  I figure this is as reliable as holding a ring on a string over my stomach early in the pregnancy to predict the gender, but it still makes me smile.  We are pretty much just in waiting mode now.  She could come out today and be considered full term.

It’s almost time to meet our baby Maia.

3 Comments

  1. Cara said,

    You’re never ready until the baby comes and then PRESTO, you’re ready. Promise.

  2. EricaB/Crazy Momma said,

    Sigh…I am so excited for you! Almost, nearly, as excited as I was meeting my little baby niece this weekend. Of course, I don’t get to meet Maia 🙂 All this baby fever…

    I can’t wait to hear all about it!!

  3. existere said,

    I don’t know what to say. I am … in awe of your big belly, laughing at your dog pee by the lady’s porch, wondering when you will pop.

Leave a Reply

