Contraction?

February 3, 2009 at 12:58 am (Baby Stuff) (, , )

I wish I had a better idea of what a contraction feels like.

Which is a really stupid thing to say, since I’m going to get to know them really well within the next little while.  But I’m sitting on the couch trying to read and getting these deep crampy pains going on.  It doesn’t feel like my muscles in my abdomen and uterus are tightening though, which is what I am anticipating a “real” contraction to be like.  Still, I am not feeling very comfortable…

6 Comments

  1. ck said,

    Ha! You wouldn’t be blogging if you were in the midst of a contraction.

    The worst thing is that everyone tells you “you’ll know” when the contractions start.

    No, the worst things is that they’re right. 🙂

  2. Maria said,

    For me, real contractions felt like deep, hot menstrual/intestinal cramps. I could talk through them up until they were a minute anda half apart, but I couldn’t walk through them.

    Try contractionmaster.com for an easy way to time them if you have a laptop you can keep nearby.

    It helps not to obsess over them until you’re pretty sure they’re regular though. Put a really good movie on or take a nice bath/shower. If you eat, eat small meals with lots of carbs.

    And good luck!!!

  3. Tatiana said,

    “lots of carbs” … EXCELLENT! That describes most of my favourite things to eat. Seriously, who lives life without pasta, fruit, and bread?

  4. Tatiana said,

    @ck: Haha… oh god. I had a handful of contractions last night that I KNOW were definitely contractions — the pain kinda crested like a wave — but they were (obviously) false :] Still, they were the most intense so far, even though I assume that they were actually quite mild.

  5. Ashley @ Domestic Fashionita said,

    lol! I have never been pregnant so I couldn’t say…but I often wondered what a contraction will be like! Good luck on learning all that fun mommy stuff! lol! 😉 Thanks so much for stopping by! 🙂

  6. Ms. COre said,

    hmmmm….don’t want to scare you ….I thought I would have some idea of what they were like too since I had so much damn practice labor. Well let’s just say I had no idea…

    I know, I really need to get my birth story up!!!

Leave a Reply

