Possibly TMI

February 5, 2009 at 9:57 am (Baby Stuff) ()

5pm update: No more goop, not even much cramping.  Sigh.  I’m so antsy!

I woke up this morning and didn’t want to get out of a bed. I was just too damned comfortable and warm. A few minutes later, Chris called from work — fortunately we had remembered to put the phone on the nightstand, so I didn’t have to move.  So we blah blah blah (and he noted how guilty he felt about taking that woman’s dollar — I told him to pick up 2 plain Timbits for the dogs on his way home!), then I get off the phone and finally stand up.

Vag goop is felt.

So I rush to the washroom and wipe, and pee, and wipe … then stare down into the toilet to see if there is a “mucus plug” or any other sign of Progress.  On my toilet paper there is a faint streak of pink.  So I sit there thinking, and wipe… pick up Vanity Fair, and wipe… nothing… read the editor’s note, and wipe… and there, finally, in the continuous goop, more pink.

I’ve paged my midwife (said it was non-urgent though) and will hopefully hear back from her soon.  In the meantime, my mom is getting all the gory details via MSN.  I haven’t called Chris yet because I don’t want to freak him out.

But I have this total irrational urge to go sit on the toilet and wipe.  Again.

Addendum:  Midwife says it’s all normal and all good, just a sign of things going the way they should be and my body preparing.  The cramping I’ve been getting is probably changing the shape/location/diameter of my cervix, and the cervix is very ‘vascular’ so blood can result from those actions.  I asked if I was going to go into labour within the next hour… she laughed and replied, “Who knows?”

10 Comments

  1. cristin said,

    Hooray for Vag goop!!!

  2. Ms. COre said,

    Yeah I had a lot of that for several weeks but since I know people I write to on the blog I didn’t write about it…sorry to be such a downer. I was also effaced and pretty far dilated by week 39…just want to prepare you for the possibility of post-dateness…

    Also, enjoy your sleep/life now. I know it is said so much to soon-to be parents that it’s almost a platitude but SO much changes when that baby first breathes air.

    Can’t wait to see pics of your little one whenever she does arrive..(hopefully very soon).

  3. Tatiana said,

    I don’t think you’re being a downer 🙂 After I got home from Monday’s appointment, the first thing I did was go back to your blog and re-read your progression actually, to see where your effacement/dilation and baby’s station were when you provided updates. I’m still being pretty calm and not expecting the baby to show up at any second, but the fact that my midwife actually said she anticipates Maia being here by the end of the weekend really struck me.

    I am sleeping SO WELL lately, whether I’m in bed or on the couch. It’s ridiculous. I kind of begrudge it because I know it’s not going to last…

    … also, should I make Chris take me out to dinner & a movie one more time? 😉

  4. Gala said,

    A big YES on the date!:)

  5. Maria said,

    I went 12 hours after pink goop.

  6. EricaB/Crazy Momma said,

    Sounds like you are getting closer! This is so exciting!

    AND a BIG, HEARTY, YES to the date!!

  7. Damselfly said,

    Ohmygoodness! Excitement!

  8. existere said,

    I am home all day with nothing to do but wait for you to update your blog. My hormones are pumping, and this entry got me all teary. You’re going to have a baby soon! Maybe today, maybe next week – but SOON. How crazy is that?

  9. Cara said,

    I lost my mucus plug, (which might be the worst phrase every, btw) two weeks before I gave birth. It was maddening waiting after that happened.

  10. Tatiana said,

    It really is a gross phrase. But so is that “bloody show” thing that I’m also waiting on… ewww!

Leave a Reply

