What up, cervix?

February 11, 2009 at 1:23 am (Baby Stuff) (, , )

Went to bed at 12:30am.  Got out at 1:10, because I can’t fall asleep.  There’s no good reason for this really — sure, the baby’s moving, but nothing more than usual — and I’m kind of annoyed.  I’m trying to stock up on sleep! (This is the part where someone tells me insomnia is a sign of impending labour, right?)

Ah well.  I slept horribly last night anyhow.  I woke up every hour and had to roll over because whichever hip I had my weight on would be incredibly sore.  Maybe it’s because Maia’s head is lower, or maybe it’s the new pillow I’m using to sandwich between my legs… or maybe it’s just being 39+ weeks pregnant!

I really want to have more symptoms that the pregnancy may be coming to an end soon.  I want aches and cramps and contractions and goop.  I feel so damned normal that it’s frustrating.

The fact that I’ll be done with being pregnant soon is somewhat intimidating, though.  I’ve enjoyed it so much (despite the less pleasant parts!) and it’s been such a boon to my relationships — a marriage that I already knew was strong has gotten stronger, a friendship that I was letting weaken is now blossoming, family ties that I had taken for granted form my main support system, and, of course, I’ve met a bunch of amazing bloggers  whose advice, thoughts, and experiences have really enriched my days.  I’ll miss my big round belly.  I know I’ll be ‘replacing’ it with someone wonderful, though, and I probably won’t even think about how cute my belly was when I have OMG BABY CUTENESS to cradle instead!

Oh, something important: in the past few days, a lot of visitors have come to my blog via searches for things like “how to check your cervix for dilation”.  People, don’t do this to yourself.  You are NOT medical professionals; it’s a horrible idea to be fucking around with your child’s passageway into this world.  Your body will let you know when your cervix is ready, and if it’s not, then it’s non-urgent enough to wait for your medical caretaker to let you know how close to ready it is.  Your dirty hands, regardless of how sterile you might think they or some gloves are, don’t need to be touching your cervix and definitely don’t need to be penetrating it to interfere with your uterus and the amniotic sac.  Don’t be stupid.

That said… I wonder how my cervix is doing.  When I wake up from whenever I go to sleep, I’m supposed to page Georgia and arrange for her to come over today.  My house smells like dog piss and it’s driving me nuts.  They must have gone in the house somewhere this afternoon, but I don’t know where so I can’t clean it up properly.  I hate this.

Also, tomorrow my MIL should be showing up again and I think we’ll be assembling the bassinet and Ikea shelfing unit, as well as putting down that (impossibly ugly but maybe cute?) rug in the nursery, so perhaps I will have new pictures to share!

2 Comments

  1. Gala said,

    Now that I know that item is a rug, I think it is really cute! I couldn’t figure out what it was. (Maia is determined to change the way her great-grandmother feels about Friday the 13th is all that I keep thinking about!)

  2. Tatiana said,

    I imagine your mom would be SO UPSET to have a Friday the 13th birthday in the family though, heheh

Leave a Reply

