39 Weeks, Days 3 & 4

February 12, 2009 at 12:00 pm (Baby Stuff) (, , , , , )

After yesterday’s midwife appointment, I spent the entire evening cramping up.  Like menstrual cramps, combined with OMFG THERE IS A HEAD IN MY COOCHIE, combined with feeling like I weighed a trillion pounds and my poor hips simply could not deal with it.  And I had some serious spotting going on as well — not enough to call the midwife and ask what’s up (if it doesn’t soak a pantyliner over the course of three hours, it’s clearly worse in my head than in reality), but enough to annoy me.  Since Maia was/is moving regularly, that also took some of the stress off me.

I was trying to force myself to keep drinking water because I need to stay hydrated, but the fact is, everytime I went to the washroom and had to put any pressure on myself to pee, my whole lower abdomen would clench up and tighten.  So I didn’t WANT to drink, because I didn’t want to go pee.  But I managed to down a full glass of water an hour anyhow.

I honestly can’t describe how uncomfortable I was last night.  Maybe it was no more uncomfortable than a normal period without taking any pain meds, but I don’t remember that.  In any case, I expect what I felt is a mild version of what I’ll be feeling.  I was ravenously hungry and polished off my dinner no problem (quarter chicken, roll, big baked potato) … then spent all night wishing I’d puke it back up because I felt nauseous.

Well, as it turns out, this morning was worse.  After spending 11:30-5:30am in bed, tossing and turning and waking up every hour with cramps/contractions, I finally got up and came to post here about how I was feeling.  15 minutes later, MJ woke up, so we sat down and watched TV together.

Between 5:30 and 8:30, I was getting about 4 contractions an hour.  It was horrible.  At one point I went into the bedroom, woke Chris up, and made him give me a hug.  I didn’t want to breathe or groan my way through the pain because I didn’t want MJ to stick around thinking I was in labour — maybe that’s a stupid thing to say, since she’ll be here for the latter part of the labour & the birth anyhow, but I really want time with just Chris and I.  I want to cope with the pain as it grows with just my husband and not think about anyone else.  Does that sound stupid?  To want my husband to be freaking out about the pain I’m in, not his mom talking me through it?  I think it does, but oh well, I don’t have to be rational.

Finally at 8:30 I crashed on the couch.  Chris came out and woke me up at 9.  I went to bed and napped for two hours, and only woke up twice during it.  I’m assuming this means I’m not having those contractions anymore since I’m pretty sure they would have woken me up, but I’ve still got some spotting going on and I still feel like there is so much pressure in my lower abdomen.

4 Comments

  1. Maria said,

    Sounds like early labor, hon. It can be really “stop and go”.

    Also, man, I feel you. I got contractions EVERY TIME I PEED for the last three months of my pregnancy.

    I bet you’re having a baby this weekend. 🙂

  2. mommyme said,

    Hi! I was out blog hopping and stumbled in here. Hope you don’t mind me commenting! It does sound like you’re moving along nicely!! It can be stop & go for a while, especially since it’s your first. 🙂 Don’t worry though, you’ll do great. And about you only wanting your husband there….totally understandable! I actually didn’t want ANYONE around me for my last. I labored alone for almost 5 hours before waking my husband. hehehehe!! It was actually very nice.

    Well, good luck and I hope you have a very smooth, easy delivery!!!

    Nina~

  3. Ms. Core said,

    I think it sounds like early labor as well…. try to stay relaxed, hydrated and eat while you can (I know easier said than done).

  4. Tatiana said,

    I’ve been soo hungry all day… now all I want to do is puke it up because when I burp up the taste of food it makes me more nauseous 😦

Leave a Reply

