More Apartment Living

February 12, 2009 at 7:32 am (Daily Life) (, )

Just another little anecdote about what  bunch of assholes inhabit this building:

Yesterday afternoon, my mother-in-law MJ comes over for the day.  We assemble the bassinet (yay!) and the glider (YAY!), lay down the carpet (which actually looks really cute and is so soft), but skip on assembling the shelfing unit for now because it’ll be a lot of heavy work.

Around 8pm, MJ decides she’s going to head home — there are some heavy wind warnings flashing across the television and she wants to get back to where she’s staying before it gets too late.  Chris walks her out to her car in the parking garage … and they return a few minutes later.

Now, see, my apartment has had construction on the parking lot going on since November 1st; the entire top floor is inaccessible and they’ve only recently opened up most of the middle floor again.  This means that you never really know exactly where you’re going to park, because you never really know what spots are going to be open.  On top of that, every time I’ve talked to the building landlady about guest parking (three times now!) she’s said “just park wherever, in the garage if the visitor lot is full”, which it almost always is.  So MJ had parked in the garage in the nearest open spot to our car.

Well, the person who is assigned that spot was apparently so offended by this that she parked diagonally in front of MJ, blocking her in as well as three other people — including us. What the fuck?  Her particular spot may not have been open at that moment, but there were plenty of others.

Chris gets ahold of the superintendent, who knows exactly whose car that is.  And a few minutes later there’s a knock on our door — it’s the landlady, and here’s what she has to say:

The 63 year old woman whose car is blocking us all in has dropped a note into the office, saying that she knows she’s parked illegally but won’t be moving her car.  Why?  Because she tried to park in another spot but “scratched” her vehicle and decided that, after a day at work, it was too much hassle to continue trying to park in another spot and she might as well inconvenience four other people.  So sorry that it happened this way, but that’s just the way it is.

Are you fucking kidding me?

The landlady, honest to God, was okay with this.  She was apologetic that we were inconvenienced, but seemed perfectly accepting of the fact that this old bitch was not going to move her car.  She asked if my MIL would be able to stay with us overnight.

I am 39 weeks pregnant.  If I needed to go to the hospital, I wouldn’t be able to get out.  If my husband were working this week and needed to leave at 4:30am, he wouldn’t be able to get out.  BUT IT’S OKAY THAT SHE DOESN’T WANT TO MOVE HER CAR.

Anyhow, MJ just went down to leave and can’t, because the old bitch hasn’t moved her car despite saying she had to be at work at 7am.  MJ found the superintendent and asked when the old bitch is moving — apparently not until 8:30am now.  So, if that car isn’t out of the way at 8:30am, we’re calling the cops. Then, she can see what “inconvenience” means.  I can’t believe what a fucking bunch of morons inhabit this apartment building.

I’ve had a crampy, uncomfortable, restless night.  I’ll update with details later.  Just had to get this off my chest now.

5 Comments

  1. Gala said,

    What the hell is wrong with that superintendent??? You really need to lodge a complaint about her to whomever owns that building. Does the old bitch know you are due any minute? I can’t believe MJ just let that slide. I think if it were me, I would tell the superintendent to call a tow truck NOW. wtf.

  2. Gala said,

    Addendum: At least leave the bitch a nasty note in her windshield.

  3. EricaB/Crazy Momma said,

    Are you even joking me? Unbelievable!!

  4. Becca said,

    I would be pissed as well! I think I would have called the cops and pretended to be in labor and had her car towed! Just to piss her off right back!

    Becca
    Please visit me at http://www.askbecca.com

  5. Damselfly said,

    I would totally call the cops. And then I would call a towing company or something.

Leave a Reply

