Three Weeks

March 6, 2009 at 6:50 pm (Baby Stuff) (, , , , )

Three weeks with our baby, and every day is unlike the one before.  Her sleep is so erratic; yesterday she slept for 2 hours between 8am and midnight, and today she’s been asleep nearly all day.  When she’s awake for that long I worry that she’s sick, but of course I think the same when she’s asleep so much (I’ve taken her temperature and she’s fine).

This whole being a parent thing isn’t easy, already.  I find that watching TV and, in particular, the news, is a completely different experience.  A disturbing one.  I find myself so sympathetic to all the stories; I wonder how I would feel if it were my child who was going through some of these things that are news worthy.  The kidnappings, the murders, the successes; it doesn’t matter, good or ill, I see Maia in the centre of the story.

In positive news, Grandpa got the baby swing working today, so baby girl is quite happy again (so is her mommy, who can now hold a plate with one hand and a fork with the other)!  Also, while Grandma was here, we looked at some of Chris’ childhood pictures… and look at how much my little girl looks like her daddy!  Here’s Chris:

baby-chris

And Maia:

001a

3 Comments

  1. cristin said,

    She really does look like Daddy!!!

    I know what you’re saying about seeing the world completely differently.. It’s all of a sudden a scarier place…

  2. Cara said,

    I never used to be affected by the news or human interest stories, but I find myself tearing up ALL the time now.

  3. Gala said,

    Wow, I thought it was two pictures of Chris at first! So, she’s a cutie now, and will grow up to be a cutie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

