Month One

March 13, 2009 at 1:07 am (Letters to Maia) (, , , )

Dear Maia,

Today you turn one month old, and I can’t believe you’ve only been here four weeks.  It feels like you’ve always been a part of our life, as if we’ve known you forever; I really don’t remember what things were like when we didn’t have you here.  And yet I still feel as if the past month has flown by, as if I just held you in my arms for the first time yesterday.

You’ve grown so much in the past month.  Physically, you’re 10 lb and 13 oz already, which means you’ve put on a little more than 2 lbs since birth.  You can hold your head up at a 45 degree angle when we give you tummy time, and you’ve even supported your head by itself when we hold you sitting up on our laps.  You love to stare at the television anytime you can and will even swivel your head to watch it — so I’ve taken to turning off the television if you’re going to be facing it, and I’ll just read or look at you instead.  You are so easy to watch; time passes in a daze when I sit and look at you.

Mentally, you are more aware of your surroundings.  You are so interested in everything — except, it seems, the chihuahuas.   They walk up to you and sniff you, and you look at everything other than them.  This is okay, I figure, since soon enough you’ll learn how to grab at them (particularly their soft ears and long tails), and then I’ll have to teach you how to treat animals with love and kindness.

You have a very easy-going personality so far.  You love to be held, but sometimes we can put you in your bouncy chair or swing and you’ll be happy just resting there.  Funny enough, the harder we push the swing, the happier you are in it; I think this means that you will love to ride roller coasters with me while your daddy waits for us.  You love car rides as well, even though you hate when we put you into your carseat when you’re awake… then we swing the carseat back and forth, and you calm right down.

Yesterday afternoon, you and I were laying on the couch to take a nap, but I wasn’t quite asleep.  I was watching you.  As usual, your face flickered with all of your beautiful expressions — the dimpled smile, the angry old man frown, the gassy furrowed brow, the angelic pursed and slightly parted lips that is probably your kissy face (and you are never allowed to make at a boy).  And then you giggled.  We had never heard that sound from you before, and when I looked up at your daddy he had a huge smile on his face to match my own.  Then you giggled again! Daddy and I started to laugh with one another.  I can’t wait until you start giggling regularly.  The whole household will be filled with such joy.

Everyone in the family adores you, and you seem to enjoy visiting places.  Sometimes you are hungry and it seems like you spend the entire visit feeding, but sometimes you are wide awake, being passed between people, and you seem happy to look at these new faces or even fall asleep against these new chests.  I have to admit that after awhile I really want you back in my arms and I miss you, even when you are just a few feet away being held by someone else.  Still, with you around, daddy and I are very excited about family get-togethers now.

You are an amazing little girl, and we are so delighted to have you in our life.   I’ve never seen your daddy smile so much, and I’ve never been more in love with him.  I didn’t know that bringing a baby into our world would make everything seem so much brighter.  We love you desperately, and watching you grow up is going to be a blessing.

Happy one month birthday, Maia.

Love,
Mama.

4 Comments

  1. Gala said,

    I’m so happy for you and Chris, you could not imagine. I’m so proud of you for taking your time in finding a man, waiting to marry him, and waiting to have your first baby. Now the two of you are totally ready to love Maia without feeling like it will take anything away from your love for each other. Or that you are “missing” something by becoming a parent. All my love to all of you, and special Babcia love to Maia on her one month birthday! 🙂

  2. becky klingensquiggle said,

    awwww!!! I cant wait to see her, shes such a cutie in all her pictures :] Happy one month birthday Maia!!

  3. Damselfly said,

    What? A month already? How did that happen? So sweet that she giggled. It’s a common phrase, but it’s true that it’s the best sound in the world. 🙂

  4. cristin said,

    Aw, this is so sweet! It’s hard to believe, but it keeps getting better…(ok, until they hit three then all he** breaks loose….)

    😉

Leave a Reply

