Girl Talk Thursday 01

March 26, 2009 at 7:58 am (Uncategorized)

Mommy Melee just started this weekly event, and I really love the thought, so here it goes: my first Girl Talk Thursday post, on the topic “Twilight, Love it or Hate it?”

I haven’t read it.  And I really don’t want to.  It’s not that I’m anti-popular culture or whatnot, but it’s that I’ve read enough vampire novels.  I had a friend in high school who was really into vampires — like to the point where she fantasized openly about Anne Rice’s creation, Lestat, coming to sweep her off her feet.  She had a beautiful singing voice, and she’d create songs for him; her bedroom window faced a graveyard, and she’d stand there and sing to him every night (since, you know, vampires hang out in graveyards).  She’d write fanfic stories about him and whatnot, and it was always an aspect of her personality that I despised.  An incident between us connected to her love of Lestat is the primary reason our friendship ended.

So, Twilight… I don’t want to touch it.  I’ve read enough about the series to know the vampires sparkle, and I know a whole new generation of girls are in love with them, including a cousin of mine.  Just like Harry Potter, I appreciate that these novels are connecting with young adults and encouraging them to read.

Would I read the series if it had nothing to do with vampires?  Maybe!  I’m not against some light reading material that sucks me into another world for awhile.  I dislike that it’s a teenage romance involving a vampire, but I like teenage romances in general, because most girls like to daydream about their knight in shining armour and those types of books provide an example of that.  At the same time, I wonder if there is a “love hurts” type theme in the novels — vampires tend to have a darker side — and if that’s romanticized.  If so, then I worry.

I guess this makes me neutral, then!

6 Comments

  1. EricaB/CrazyMomma said,

    I put off reading the series and finally caved nearly a year ago.

    I really enjoyed them though they are not typically my type of read.

    I completely understand your reasoning. And I wonder if you could be right about romanticizing the dangerous aspect of the relationship…interesting.

  2. Maria said,

    The boy vampire in this book is practically Puritanical. It’s bizarre. She wants to screw, he doesn’t. He’s… perfect. It actually annoys me more that it’s romantized that a teenaged boy could possibly act like that.

    Thank you so much for participating, girl. I adore your posts.

  3. pleasantnplump said,

    Yeah…that would make me tired of vampires before the book even came out to.

    What about the movie?

    Any will to watch it?

    I’m still on the fence about watching it.

  4. deserthomespun said,

    I really really enjoyed these books and the movie! I understand what you’re saying, but this is not your typical vampire love story. First, just as a previous commenter pointed out – he (and his family) are very moral – and there is no sex until after marriage in this book. Which is what you’d expect from this writer. It’s much more a love story – the main male lead just happens to be a vampire – a very moral, 1900’s type of guy.

    But even then, you get into the whole issue of the love story. He’s so concerned about morals and somewhat controlling and she needs someone to take care of her, since she’s been taking care of her parents her whole life. Some people like it, some people hate it.

    I say take the plunge. Maybe you’ll get so caught up in the story, the vampire aspect will really fade somewhat to the background….really.

  5. deserthomespun said,

    Oh, and not to take up so much room here –

    The movie was one of the best screen adaptions of a book (except for any of Jane Austen’s books)! – and still was able to hold its own. The cinematography was AMAZING.

  6. cristin said,

    I was a huge Anne Rice fan… refused to see the movie Interview with the Vampire because I detest Tom Cruise… Anne’s Vampires were much darker than the Twilight ones…. Twilight is really Vampire fluff in comparison… What has grabbed me about these books is Edward’s character…. it’s fun to fantasize about the perfect man…

Leave a Reply

