Because I love my new belly

March 31, 2009 at 8:10 pm (Daily Life) (, )

Two months or so ago, I stumbled across The Belly Project.  I visit it weekly (along with PostSecret!), and it’s such a beautiful, reaffirming, and positive website.  Women often have self-esteem issues, and particularly after a pregnancy, we can end up with funky bellies that make us feel negatively.  The Belly Project is trying to fix that — and show that many women don’t have “perfect” stomaches; some have stretch marks, extra chub, scars, or have lost tone in other ways.  I always feel more positive about myself after going there, even though I don’t comment on the pictures; it’s comforting to know that we are all unique and none of us are perfect.

6 Comments

  1. cristin said,

    I’ve seen a similar site that showed post baby breasts…beautiful stuff….

  2. Cara said,

    What a neat site! I wish I had the belly that is posted today. Sigh.

  3. Jinxy said,

    I love Postsecret but have never seen The Belly project before. Its a very nest site.
    Thanks for the link.

  4. Maria said,

    My belleh was on there last month.

  5. Tatiana said,

    @maria: cool! I need to send my belly in…

  6. J.C said,

    what a neat site! and a great idea. I’ve seen the breast one before, but not the belly one. It’s gonna be a regular for me I can see. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

