A little sugar, a little spice

April 2, 2009 at 12:27 pm (Baby Stuff) (, , , )

Sometimes it just hits me square in the chest how much I love my little girl.  Today it was as she nursed and laid there gazing up at me with her huge, dark eyes, and I sat watching her.  Her eyes closed, slowly, and she drifted into sleep, still sucking now and then; when she released the latch, her lips were bright pink and still pursed, slightly parted, and it was all I could do not to lean down and smooch them, so I brushed her hair back from her ear instead… and she smiled.

Moments like that are so precious.

I made the decision to start pumping… sometime soon.  Not that I want to switch to bottle-feeding exclusively, but Chris would like to be able to feed her (as would I), and I’d like to feel as though we can leave her with family for a few hours without worrying about a feeding crisis.  Also, since we’re going to be travelling to Connecticut in the summer, being able to bottle feed may let us avoid some crying fits between rest stations.

I love the idea of my girl lying in my family’s arms, feeding from the bottle, giving them that same bright-eyed, adoring look that I am so blessed to receive daily.

And then they might just be privileged enough to receive the ear-piercing scream she gives off just when you think she’s actually going to sleep this time.  HAH!

5 Comments

  1. Jinxy said,

    That is so sweet.

    I love when I’m nursing Lily and I think she’s asleep and I look down to see a big bright eye gazing at me.

    I know you didn’t ask for it but I would suggest the bottle called Breast flow. It is suppose to very closely resemble breastfeeding so the don’t get nipple confusion. It’s what we use.

  2. Tatiana said,

    That’s actually what I am interested in, but I am not sure they sell in Canada. I have checked some websites that say they are, but others disagree :\ need to call babies r us tomorrow!

  3. Cara said,

    That really is a wonderful feeling. Part of why I am resisting giving it up. Sigh.

  4. Jinxy said,

    I got our Breast Flow at Target, you might try their site, If nothing else I’ll pick up some and mail them to you. Just let me know.

  5. Andi said,

    I have the Born Free widemouth and love them. Good idea to start soon with the bottle – my best friend just spent 5 months trying to get her LO to take it because she waited too long. She’s never been able to enjoy a night out or even a dinner longer than 2 hours – for close to 6 months now. She’s tried everything. . . I was forced to start mine on a bottle (she was in the NICU for 3 days right after she was born) and am so glad we did – she had no problem going back and forth since.

Leave a Reply

