Girl Talk Thursday 02

April 2, 2009 at 6:08 am (food) (, )

Girl Talk Thursday is Mommy Melee‘s weekly event, and I really love the thought, so here it comes: my thoughts on the topic of “Comfort Food”!

I love cooking.  Baking, not so  much, so while the thought of a delicious cookie certainly makes me happy, I’m almost positive that delicious cookie will not be coming out of my oven.  I’m not a big fan of chocolate (I know, someone kick me out of the Woman Club!) either, which makes my husband quite happy as the majority of the chocolate that comes into the house ends up in his hands — unless it’s hot chocolate or chocolate milk, in which case, sign me up!

So what is my comfort food?

If I have five minutes — peanut butter & jelly.  There’s just something innately comforting about a PBJ sammich, probably since I ate many of them as a child.  I’m big on lots of chunky peanut butter and just a thin layer of jelly/jam, or even playing around and substituting bananas or apples for the jelly.  Yummm!

If I have half an hour — risotto.  The long, labour-intensive process of cooking risotto and ending up with a beautiful, creamy dish just soothes my mind.  I love chopping the vegetables, toasting the rice, standing over the oven and stirring, adding in the cheese at the end… and if I am feeling frisky, I have some truffle oil in the cabinet (thanks mom!) to drizzle over it at serving time to make it perfect!

What’s your favourite comfort food?

14 Comments

  1. Jinxy said,

    I love to cook, but risotto has always scared me. That sounds so yummy I think I’m going to have to try it.

  2. Amber said,

    Oh, yes, PB & J! Although I think smooth peanut butter is far better than chunky any day of the week. 😉

  3. Lori said,

    Mashed potatoes are my comfort food of choice!

  4. Cara said,

    I don’t really have a comfort food. Weird, I know. I guess if I had to pick something it would be mac and cheese, Kraft style. Clearly I have no tastebuds.

  5. Tatiana said,

    Mashed potatoes are awesome. I made mini-meatloaves for dinner last night but didn’t do the potatoes… it was like an incomplete meal 😦

    boxed mac & cheese is just fine… we have a few boxes hiding in our cupboards 😉

  6. Sheila said,

    I have way too many comfort foods! I love PB&J too!

  7. pastelprincess said,

    Hands down, I’m all about anything potato. Mashed potatoes are very good, but I’m going to have to say probably potato salad is the winner for me. Of course, i hate making it, so I’ll often make enough for a few days. But that would be my winner.

  8. Gala said,

    How about chinese buffet? That is my favorite comfort food! I do like a giant bowl of real popcorn (not the microwave stuff), salted and butter-drizzled….yummmm

  9. Tatiana said,

    I went through a month where I ate a baked potato with just butter, salt and pepper every day… it was delish!

    Real popcorn is a little indulgence of ours around here… I put lots and lots of salt on it. I go pretty light on the butter though, because otherwise I KNOW I’ll go overboard. And if I’m feelin fancy, lots grated parmesan (I seem to remember my dad doing this?) and black pepper too 😉

  10. Kekibird said,

    Ummm….PB&J with chunky peanut butter. I could go for that right now! And taking a banana, peeling it partially, and the eating it with a spoonful of peanut butter is good too!

  11. Maria said,

    Ever since Chipmunk’s peanut allergy I’ve been SO bummed about missing out on PB&J’s at the house.

  12. Annette Burke said,

    I don’t think I’ve ever had risotto. Seriously. I’m gonna have to change that. It sounds good…I love rice anything so I’m sure I’d love it.

  13. cristin said,

    I’m totally with you on the PB&J for a quick comfy fix… PB and Honey is also super comfy… Once a month I have to make a baked Mac & Cheese.. it is my ultimate comfort food and I make a kick ass one if I do say so myself…

  14. imommy said,

    I have actually never had risotto. Tell you what, I’ll bake cookies so that your husband gets outta your hair, and you bake me risotto…. and I’ll also make you a damn fine peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Deal? lol.

Leave a Reply

