7 Weeks

April 5, 2009 at 10:12 am (Baby Stuff) (, , , , )

I love the mornings right now.  Maia is a talkative little monster during them, and I can usually get her to smile at me a few times while we play around with one another.  “Playing” at this point is really not much more than me waving a rattle or toy in front of her and watching her follow it with her eyes, or me tickling the breath out of her and smothering her with kisses, but I still love it.  She makes the funniest faces and talks back at me, making these sort of uncontrolled shouts or coos.  It’s adorable.

I can’t get that scary moment on Friday night when she stopped breathing out of my head, though.  And yesterday, she vomited twice, once seeming to choke on it.  I took a little online Infant Reflux Screening Quiz, and if I’m being honest with myself I answered yes to several of the questions — more than I expected to.  I tend to be the kind of person who ignores/downplays symptoms of illness. We see the midwife for our last appointment tomorrow, and our family doctor on Tuesday, so I’ll be able to get two opinions and possibly a prescription if needed.  I hate the thought of this being an issue with Maia, I’d rather say it’s colic or gas or something, and I really hate the idea of giving her some sort of prescription medicine, but if she’s genuinely got reflux, then it needs to be treated, and I’m on board with that.  I just don’t want to be one of those moms who relies on modern medicine for any little thing that seems to go wrong with her child, but I also don’t want to deny symptoms that include my daughter NOT BREATHING.

Also, can I just say… I am totally geeking out about existere’s twins.  I can’t wait for the results of her scan to find out their genders.  It’s kind of silly, it’s like I am thinking of these kids as Maia’s e-cousins!

4 Comments

  1. Ms. Core said,

    My understanding is that the drugs that they give don’t necessarily help. For some they do others they don’t. I think that my friend who had a baby with it said that what helped most for her was keeping her upright after feeding, sticking something under her crib mattress to slightly elevate her head but she did give her baby zantac as well. I will talk to her next week on the phone and get more deatils. However, bring it up to your doc/midwife for sure but most of all trust your instincts about what to do.

  2. J.C said,

    There are always going to be a million different opinions when it comes to this. At my last nurse visit with Lauren (on friday) she said to me – you know it sounds a lot like she had reflux for those first months. And I thought to myself, yeah that makes sense, but she doesn’t seem to have any issues now. Definitely in those first months though she was pretty unhappy to be flat on her back a lot of the time. Maybe try some of the non-medicine options like Ms. Core suggested, cause they do seem to help somewhat.
    Hopefully Maia’s troubles will clear up, as so many of the little things do with babies, and you won’t need to worry about it too much in the near future.

  3. ERicaB/CrazyMomma said,

    Trust your instincts is right! Mommy knows best.

    This could be something as simple as you eating something that doesn’t agree with her. It could be as simple as her needing to burp more often…who knows?!

    But you are right, don’t wait. Talk to your doctor and get it checked into.

    You are already a great mom!

  4. existere said,

    I am totally geeking out that you are geeking out.

Leave a Reply

